Insert “Rocky” theme song here

Now that you’ve got that stuck in your head I will begin. Allow me to describe to you a scene I have witnessed in the natural world: a hawk flying away with a much smaller bird trailing closely behind it. The little bird in, each instance, would swoop and aggressively fly at the much larger hawk. I imagine it was trying to peck out the hawk’s eyes. The birds have chased relentlessly. I am no naturalist, but I figure that the bird is merely defending its nest. What impresses me most with each time, I’ve witnessed this, is the relentless pursuit after the hawk. It doesn’t just defend its within the realm of its nest, it takes the pursuit way beyond that almost to the point of the defensive turning into the offensive. This scene has been in plain view of my site so many times, I’ve begun to see this as something God is trying to teach me.

That sometimes there is a fight to establish and defined what we have been given or promised. There is no such thing as a Christian passivise. If you believe that, the world will mow right over you. Circumstances, good and bad, happen inevitably. So what do we do in the bad? What are you hoping for or hoping to establish? What has God promised you? What desires has he placed in your heart? Is it for your marriage and family to strengthen? Is there a calling God has placed on your life? Is it an addiction you are trying to break? Is it forgiveness you are trying to give?

Whatever it is, you have set out to establish, if you haven’t had it already, there will be resistance, hardship, and discouragement. The Enemy will try to pick it apart in order to destroy it. In these times, we have to fight to defend and we have to do it relentlessly. God armors us with the truth of his word, fortifies us and empowers us through prayer, and makes us impermeable when we stay connected with His body. He promises that the victory is already won. Are you ready to fight for what is rightfully yours?

All this makes me want to say…..Go Vols!

 I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.] – John 16:33 AMP

~Janean

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

