Thankful

I am thankful for the same things that most people are thankful for, or at least they should be thankful for. I’ve been blessed with an amazing, supportive, loving family; a bright, sweet little boy; a warm, sturdy home; a loving, vivacious church; loyal friends…all things that anyone would be grateful for.
As a Christian, however, I can’t help but be thankful for so much more than just “earthly” things. Naturally, as someone who has accepted Jesus Christ as my savior, I’m thankful for His sacrifice–for His paying the debt I owed with His own blood. I’m so very thankful that God is who He is. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t, at some point, find myself in complete and utter awe of Him. I’m grateful for the good times and the bad times that He’s allowed me to experience in life. They’ve all played some part in shaping who I am and who I am going to be.
But I think if I were to have a core to all my thankfulness, it’d be this: knowing God. I’m thankful that I was introduced to Him, taught about Him, and that I know who He is. Without this knowledge, my past would still be painful, my present would be overwhelming, and my future would be lackluster and hopeless. Once you truly understand who Jesus is, you want to know Him more; and the more you know Him, the more you fall in love with and trust Him. Then once you get to that point, you realize that He is the one thing in your life that you can’t live without.
So I give Him my thanks for all the many ways He has blessed me. I thank Him for being who He is and doing what He does. Above all, I’m thankful that I know Him, and I pray for all those who are facing life without Him, that they might discover who God truly is and that knowing Him is the most invaluable necessity in life.
Alanna
“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come before Him with joyful songs. Know that the Lord is God. It is He who made us, and we are His; we are His people, the sheep of His pasture. Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name. For the Lord is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.” Psalms 100
2 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Alanna, I am also thankful for YOU. I always look forward to your posts because they are meaty and full of fresh insights! Happy Thanksgiving to you…and I worship God because of everything He is and has given us!!!

Leave a Reply

