Worship

I know I just did a vlog on worship, but these are my thoughts continued. Forgive me, but I can never talk enough about it. It’s probably my favorite subject.

For he will conceal me there when troubles come;
he will hide me in his sanctuary.
He will place me out of reach on a high rock.
6 Then I will hold my head high
above my enemies who surround me.
At his sanctuary I will offer sacrifices with shouts of joy,
singing and praising the Lord with music.

7 Hear me as I pray, O Lord.
Be merciful and answer me!-Psalm 27:5-7

It can be offered in many ways.  We offer up our time, energy, and focus to the one true living God. One of the most beautiful ways is through music; created for our pleasure and His. It sounds lofty, but it is one of the most natural things for us to do. It is what we were made for. I said natural, but not always easy. So many other things call for our attention. Worries, fears, obligations, responsibilities. We are trying to be good stewards, yet like Martha, we are totally missing the point. To offer ourselves up to Him who loves us most sets us back on track, revives us, and realigns us back to Him. It really is more for our benefit than His, even though He greatly deserves all that we have to give and then some.

The most beautiful part of worship is that He graciously accepts what we have even when it’s very little. Rich or poor, good days, bad days, right attitude, wrong attitude. I don’t wait to worship when times are good or the when things are the way I want them to be. I worship even when I don’t feel like it. I worship through the hard times. I worship for what He has already done, will do, and for who He is. I offer up my hurts, my fears, and my discouragement in return for His peace and comfort.  He is pleased ,regardless, when it’s done not to impress others, but done  in spirit and in truth.

Sunday is a by-product of my daily habit of worship. I don’t get it right much of the time. My focus strays. I get consumed by other things more than I wish to own up to. I still know who to go back to, though. My most insane worship moments have been on the floor of my kitchen or stuck in traffic somewhere. It’s not always pretty. My heart is not always in the right place and I have to fight for the focus. I ask God to bring me there. I give Him what I have. If it’s ugly, I ask Him to make it beautiful and because He is so gracious, He does.

It’s not just for me. It’s a calling we all have. ~Janean

4 thoughts on “Worship

  1. Thank you so much for your thoughts about this, Janean! Everything I experience and read tells me over and over that mankind was created for worship. Even in Hinduism and Buddhism they have a part of the truth. “Dharma” is worship through every act in life in their view. Our God has the power to transform us through it, as your blog so wonderfully points out. We are highly favored to have a God who redeems every part of us so that we can sing, “You make beautiful things out of the dust.”

Leave a Reply

