On Purpose

I’m sure I’m just like the rest of the human race, specifically Christians, when I say that I’ve wondered: whom am I and why am I here? There’s been many a time when I’ve questioned God as to why He created me. For what purpose did He chose to put me on this earth at this point in time? For me and, I’m sure, for a lot of Christians, understanding our purpose–or even thinking that we have a purpose–can be difficult if we don’t perceive we have any special gifts or talents that might make us useful to the body of Christ or to the world, in general.
I remember as a teenager wondering if maybe, when He created me, God just had a quota to fill that year; so He made me to fill that quota. Of course, I know how foolish that idea was because that implies that He has a boss, but we all know that God doesn’t answer to anyone. He never does anything–including creating–because He has to. He does it all because He wants to. Nothing He does is accidental or thoughtless, which means when He created us, He did it with intention and purpose. When God created me (and you), He did so because He wanted to. That point in itself makes me feel pretty special.
So does this mean I’ve discovered God’s grand design for my life? Not quite. But I have come to understand this: one, I’ve got to stop gauging my value using worldly standards and start realizing my worth is found in Him; and second, my main purpose is to serve–to serve God and to serve others. I’m here to worship Him and to glorify Him through my life. As far as to any of the fine details or the specific ways He plans to use me, I don’t know that, yet. And I’m okay with that. I’m just contented knowing that I’m His child, and He loves me as I am and that He will fulfill His purpose for my life as long as I seek Him and leave myself open to be used by Him in any way He pleases.
~Alanna

But now, this is what the Lord says–He who created you, O Jacob, He who formed you, O Israel: Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you and people in exchange for your life. Isaiah 43: 1, 2 & 4

One thought on “On Purpose

  1. Thank you so much for this blog, Alanna! It ministered to me more than I could ever tell you! I especially like the line about guaging our lives not by worldly standards, but by realizing our worth is found in Him and how He has us serve. We don’t always need to be able to see beyond His robes when we are walking with Him holding His hand…we just need to trust in His leadership and His love for us.

Leave a Reply

