The Stance

Stance, in pure definition, means to stand. It can refer to a position in an argument on a certain issue. In regards to fighting, it refers to the body position employed when either attacking or defending. When fighting, stance is everything. You can have great strength and cunning, but if you do not have the proper stance you will be defeated.

The proper stance provides stability. Your body is positioned to be its most forceful; its most efficient.

Lies! Satan’s choicest of weapons.  Hunched over, I had walked as though I had a heavy burden over my back. Lies have been heaped one after another smothering me, weighing me down like a soggy wet blanket. Getting heavier, I bent further down, barely able to see the truth and barely able to be seen. Others may get a glimpse of the woman underneath, but not entirely. I remain hidden, comfortable with the misery of it. Understanding the misery as I know that I’m not able to truly live, breathe, and move about freely. I still tried to function under the weight of it, as lies continued to make the burden heavier. It has been a wearisome task; hoping no one else notices my awkward position.

It’s not about strength. It’s not about not knowing the truth. It has been about my stance. I know what the Bible says about me, but I have not been posturing myself to not receive the lies. I had not been positioning my spirit to fight back.

Is this what I am called to? Is this what I chose to believe the day I accepted Christ? Is this the way to minister to others? No! No more will I curl up in a fetal position to protect my vitals. This is not being alive. This is dying a slow death.

My stance is erect. My feet positioned for stability. I choose what I believe and I will no longer believe the lies. My armor is my faith. My sword is the truth established in His word. My line has been drawn in the sand. I stand. Stand with me.

Lie: You are unlovable and unwanted.

Christ: I died so I can have you with me forever.

Lie: You are ugly.

Christ: I paid careful particulars to design you.

Lie: You must hide in your shame.

Christ: I have clothed you in strength and dignity.

Lie: You have messed my life up beyond repair.

Christ: I give you new life and in abundance. Every morning you wake up, my mercies are there waiting to start the day with you.

Lie: I can’t…..

Christ. You can do all things through me as I strengthen you.

~Janean

Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm.  Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. ~ Ephesians 6:13-14

5 thoughts on “The Stance

Leave a Reply

