Free To Forgive

Forgiveness has been on my mind a lot lately–God’s forgiveness as it relates to our forgiveness of others and as it relates to our forgiveness of  ourselves. The latter, in particular, because I find it much more difficult to forgive myself than others. I hold grudges against myself. I mentally beat myself up. Though I thoroughly understand how forgiveness works, and I know that the blood of Christ covers all my sins, I have struggled to allow myself to forgive myself of my faults and of past mistakes. Thankfully, God is making it much easier for me.
First of all, He made me understand that in order to forgive, I first need to see sin the way He sees it: its horrible, yes, but once repented of, it’s forgotten. He remembers it no more. God holds no grudges, nor does He condemn. While mankind might stand poised with stones in hand, ready to make you pay for your sins, God accepts an apology poured out from a repentant heart then chooses to forget your wrongs. So the world might not forgive you, but God does, and isn’t He greater than the world? If the Creator of the universe can forgive you, shouldn’t you forgive yourself? I believe
His commandment to forgive others extends to ourselves.
God doesn’t want us to live our lives bogged down with guilt and shame. Those are devices the devil uses to keep us shackled to our past sins. Satan wants to keep us from the freedom that is made available to us through Christ’s sacrifice. He wants you to think it’s not okay to forgive yourself. But it really is. It doesn’t mean that the rotten things we’ve said or done are okay; it just means it’s okay to move past them. Even if the rest of the world condemns you and throws your sins up in your face, God doesn’t. He stands with you–beside, behind, and ahead. He gives you leave to not only accept His forgiveness but to also step away from your past, shake off the guilt, and move forward, toward Him and His purpose for you.
~Alanna Jones
Psalm 103:8-14
8 The LORD is compassionate and merciful,
slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love.
9 He will not constantly accuse us,
nor remain angry forever.
10 He does not punish us for all our sins;
he does not deal harshly with us, as we deserve.
11 For his unfailing love toward those who fear him
is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.
12 He has removed our sins as far from us
as the east is from the west.
13 The LORD is like a father to his children,
tender and compassionate to those who fear him.
14 For he knows how weak we are;
he remembers we are only dust.
2 thoughts on “Free To Forgive

  1. Alanna, this spoke to me on a deep level. The need to focus on Yahweh and His unconditional love is paramount in our walk with Him, to become like Him. Our ability to forgive grows from our acceptance of His forgiveness. Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

