Perspective On How And Why

Philosophy & Science… some argue that the disciplines are ultimate rivals, while others suggest they’re wholly dependent upon one another. Regardless of a particular stance on the relationship between these disciplines, I feel it’s accurate to say they’re vastly inclusive in matters of subject. Science will take on a given subject and through their defined methodology attempt to describe how events or actions yield a specific result. Philosophy on the other hand, will take on the same subject and attempt to describe why those events or actions yield a specific result.

How and Why. They are simple questions indeed… but the answers are rarely as simple. In my life, these two questions have motivated me to learn, granted me knowledge and even driven me to success. Yet the same two questions have consumed my mind, clouded my judgment and led me astray.

I am at best, an amateur in the scientific and philosophical enterprises. But I understand that people are curious creatures. We hunger for knowledge and strive for success, and that’s ok. I feel God probably wants us to understand the world he gave us, but he cautions to avoid letting it consume us.

Romans 12:2 Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

How and Why are simple questions indeed. But they can bring as much distraction and confusion as answers. Feel free to keep asking, and keep striving to gain knowledge about our world… but know that wisdom in Christ is the most important truth to gain.

To me, the most important How and Why… is found in the #1 spot of Bible Gateway’s 100 Most Read Verses.

John 3:16: (HOW) For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, (WHY) that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Ted

4 thoughts on “Perspective On How And Why

  1. Thank you for this blog, Ted! I often think about those very things myself, how people from different disciplines approach the how and whys of life, and the way God’s “higher ways” trascend all of these things. I often think about the mysteries of God’s ways and His Word, and how grateful I am that He is going to give us all wisdom about it in the end.

Leave a Reply

