My Little Parrot

One of the greatest gifts the Lord has ever given me was the birth of my daughter. Draydee-Lyn will turn 2 in April and she is now at the age where she has started repeating everything I say or do; my little “parrot.” (If you are a parent you know what stage I am referring to.) She is a constant reminder that I have someone watching me 24 hours of the day, 7 days a week.

A few weeks ago I really started noticing her repeating my words and playing mommy with her baby dolls. So in return, I started thinking about what my Draydee hears and sees me do throughout the day. What music is on the radio in the car, how do I treat the person in the check-out line at the grocery store, what words come out of my mouth when someone pulls out in front me? Then I started asking myself, not only what kind of role model am I being to her but more importantly what am I doing DAILY as a christianly mother to invest in her the way God commands me to? Am I taking her to church, does she see her father and I praying over her, does she see me daily reading the Bible? These are the most important things I could ever do for or with my child. It says in Ephesians 6:4 “Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”

 So, what are we doing as parents to invest in our children’s lives? Do your kids daily see you showing the love of God to the people around you? Are you different from other parents because of your relationship with Christ? If not, then take a step back and think how many of us would have given anything to have seen our father praying over us at bedtime or our mom reading the bible every morning before she went to work.  Parents, we need to redirect our lives to reflect Christ so that when our children become adults and have children of their own; the cycle will continue on. Proverbs 22:6 states “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” 

I couldn’t think of any greater compliment then for my daughter to look at me one day and say “Mom, because of you I know what it means to truly love the Lord with all your heart, soul, and mind.” Let’s take a stand, parents, and promise from this day forward that we will constantly be thinking about how our children are seeing us.  How are we daily showing them the “mirror image” of Christ through us? No matter what age your little “parrot” is, they will always look to their parents as role models.

~Lindsey Armstrong

One thought on “My Little Parrot

  1. Wonderful blog! The Holy Spirit is definitely working, not only in your life, but showcasing what it means to have a viable and lasting relationship with Father God and Jesus to your daughter. The greatest gifts we can bestow on our children involve faithfulness, depth, and dependence on the Lord.

Leave a Reply

