When The Time Comes

I want to share a story that is very personal to me… It is such a huge reminder to me every single day that God has a perfect plan for us.

It really starts back when I was in 6th grade and broke my jaw playing soccer. That was a moment that would change my life forever. When I got kicked in the face (apparently a player on the opposing team mistook my head for the soccer ball) my jaw split in two places. They thought I had lost a tooth or two, but all my teeth were there, my jaw was just split so severely that it looked like I was missing teeth.

A funny thing happened though…

I found myself floating above the soccer field. I saw what appeared to be the “bright light” of heaven and two or three angelic figures flying down toward me. It’s so hard to explain the feeling I had at that moment. The best way I can describe it is PERFECT. It was the best feeling I have ever experienced. Even at our most relaxed state on earth we still have the weight of our bodies to deal with. While having this out-of-body experience… or whatever you want to call it, I had never been so at peace with myself. I had no worry in the world, I knew exactly what was happening.  It seemed like this lasted for about 30 minutes or so, but before you know it I was back in my earthly body.

I hopped up off of the field, gave the ball to the referee and began to walk casually to my dad who knew something was wrong. Everyone said you could hear my jaw break from the other side of the field. As blood poured out of my mouth I still felt so peaceful about what was going on. I never felt pain from it.  When I got to my dad I asked him to the best of my ability how long I had been laying on the ground for. He said that as soon as I hit the ground I got back up like nothing had happened. Time is an amazing thing… a second on earth seemed like a good 30 minutes.

I wondered for years why I saw and experienced what I did… I could not figure it out.

Last year we found out my great grandpa was dying of cancer. He lived in Illinois so we went up to visit him a few weeks before he passed. While we were up visiting him, he got extremely serious and talked about how had been put in some very extreme positions in his life. While he was in the Korean war he had done and seen things that most people wouldn’t want to imagine. He went on to say that after all of the things he had been through… no matter how severe, he can count on one hand the amount of times he had been scared in his life. As a Christian man, he knew he was going to heaven, but he was scared of the process of it. He didn’t know what it was like or what he would feel. After having a nice visit with him… Lindsey and my mom gave him a hug and walked on out to the car. I lagged behind… something kept telling me to tell him about what I had experienced. I stayed after for a few more minutes and told him how perfect it would be. I tried to reassure him that everything would be okay. I explained what I felt and what I saw and the perfect peace that I felt. It was around a week after we talked that he passed.

It’s funny how God’s plan works out in the end. We experience things and try to figure out why. I guess it was about 12 years after my experience that I really found out why it happened. It wasn’t necessarily for me to experience, but for me to share my experience with at least one other person.

~Kris Ford

1 Thessalonians 5:9-11 For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ,  who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him. Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.

3 thoughts on “When The Time Comes

  1. Thank you for sharing this story Kris! God has surely given you a very special gift…to know what His perfect peace will be like, unhindered by this earthly body. I thank Him that He gave you the opportunity to pass that message on to your great grandfather.

  2. So true. We may not know why we go through or experience the things we do until one day, God reveals His perfect plan and timing. Praise God he used your experience to comfort your Great Grandpa in his time of need.

Leave a Reply

