We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Patches

Once again, I find myself sitting in a dingy waiting area with old magazines and new tires. My tire is on the verge of flatness and my vain efforts to keep air in it, is lost. It’s not that this is the first time, you know. In fact, I’ve been dealing with leaking tires, flat tires, and worn out tires since the summer.  It has been a concerted effort on a weekly basis to keep air in them and when I finally think I’ve got one tire fixed, another one takes its stead for my attention. Not only has it been one extra thing that I do not need on my plate, but it has cost me quite a bit of money to keep my jeep rolling on them. I don’t mind telling you that it’s really getting on my nerves. My patience and my tire tread are both neck and neck on the wearing-thin-o-meter.

We are not unlike those tires, my friends. We do what we can to keep ourselves together, hoping our patches will hold just enough so we can keep moving. We do what we can using our feeble resources to make our appearances and circumstances look presentable. We do what we can just enough to get by. Problem is that, just like my tires, the problems keep resurfacing. The patches wear off; our spirits become deflated from discouragement. Our intentions are good. We know how things ought to be, so we do what we can to fix it ourselves only to find that we still are dealing with the same stuff over and over again.

We have good news, though. It was never our job in the first place to fix us. In fact, Jesus wants all of you; cracks, holes, gaps, and worn tread. He wants to do a new thing in you. He wants to make beauty out of your brokenness. He wants to take all things wrong in your life and turn it into a story that blesses you and glorifies His power and His goodness. So hand over your sins, failures, and disappointments. Let Him breathe life into you. Let Him saturate you with His strength, His joy, His power, His mercy, and His grace which will see you through all your current circumstances and beyond them. You will find that just getting by was never part of His plan in the first place.

~Janean

Romans 3:21 (The Message)
But in our time something new has been added. What Moses and the prophets witnessed to all those years has happened. The God-setting-things-right that we read about has become Jesus-setting-things-right for us. And not only for us, but for everyone who believes in him. For there is no difference between us and them in this. Since we’ve compiled this long and sorry record as sinners (both us and them) and proved that we are utterly incapable of living the glorious lives God wills for us, God did it for us. Out of sheer generosity he put us in right standing with himself. A pure gift. He got us out of the mess we’re in and restored us to where he always wanted us to be. And he did it by means of Jesus Christ.

2 thoughts on “We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Patches

  1. I love the story of reconciliation of God calling us to Himself through no effort of our own, but through the gift of Jesus, His work, His death for our illnesses, sins, and unrighteousness, and His resurrection!! This is the message of Christmas…our hope, our strength, our life is in HIM. Your illustration of Him renewing us as opposed to us “patching” ourselves delineates the hope we came to know in Him when we received His gift of forgiveness and new life. Thank you, Janean! Awesome blog!

  2. Thanks Denise. I think that it is an easy trap to fall into, especially for Christians, to wear ourselves out trying to keep presentable. The past couple of years have been hard ones because of this for me, but as I have let go more and leaned hard on God and His promises, I have never felt stronger or more at ease than I have in the past year. I can see how He has stepped in and met me wherever I’m at. So my blog was inspired by gratitude.

Leave a Reply

