Overwhelming Majesty

About a year ago, I was privileged to visit my son and his family over in Wiesbaden, Germany. While I was there, we took a family outing to see Frankfurt with all its extraordinarily lovely old architecture. What struck me most was the care and love the artisans put into their creations, reminding me of how God took great care in creating each of us, whom He intended to be His temple. Thinking about the sheer enormity of detail in His instructions to build His temple was mind-bending. At that point in time, the Holy Spirit touched my mind, talking to me about the Lord being in His temple and the train of His robes filling it with His presence. He spoke to me about the universe being God’s temple, its stars as lit candles in His honor.
I began to think about the fact that God says that we are the temple of His Holy Spirit, and the renewing, renovating, revolutionizing force that occupies our lives if we allow it. But we have to actively choose it. We can have growth without the expected concomitant pain if we simply permit it! Father God desires that from us and for us:
Hosea 6:6 “For I desire loyalty and not sacrifice, the knowledge of God rather than burnt offerings.”
Proverbs 9: 10-11 “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. For by Wisdom your days will be many, and years will be added to your life.”
The thought that He wants to give me the power of His overwhelming majesty to root out and overcome the sin and iniquity in my life leaves me speechless! Jesus gave me a vision of what He wanted for all humans through a picture of what He desired for me…here it is:
I place my heart, cut and bleeding into His hands. He blows His breath of life back into it. His Light and Love have replaced the physical blood now, and its rays shoot out in all directions to the world around my heart.
With this vision came a word: “They tear apart; I put back together. They give light that does not satisfy; I give Light overflowing into your life. You need never be afraid again, for I am protecting your heart. Moreover, the Light in you will overcome the darkness they try to bring you and with it destroy you. Their darkness will turn and destroy them. Pray for them, for I am the only One who can overcome it for them and for you.”
Keeping my eyes on the prize of the upward call of Christ and ignoring all the distractions of the world might not be easy, but it IS POSSIBLE. I must continually remind myself of who I am in Him and what it is that He wants for me, that the things of this world that pretend to be such huge mountains are truly mere distractions from the real battle.
Psalm 119:50 “This is my comfort in my affliction that Your promise gives me life.”
II Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away;
behold, the new has come.”
We can be the light of the world if we allow His majesty to infuse and overwhelm us. The life and change He gives us can overcome sin and dark forces, just as light always obliterates darkness in any place. We can choose to shine as if our blood has turned to light, because we are the temple for His overwhelming majesty.
~Denise
Leave a Reply

