Leaving A Legacy

            A couple of weekends ago Callie and I were able to attend Family Life’s “A Weekend to Remember” marriage conference.  It was a wonderful experience for us, and it was a chance to get away from our busy schedules and truly focus on God and each other.  There were ten different sessions spread out throughout the weekend addressing everything from conflict resolution and communication to raising children.  One session in particular really stuck out to me.  It was a session about leaving a legacy.  This was something that my parents talked about quite a bit while I was growing up, but I didn’t really think much about it until I was out of the house and married.

What does it even mean to leave behind a legacy?  I knew about leaving behind a will, but I didn’t understand this legacy thing.  It took some time but eventually this leaving behind a legacy idea started to make sense to me.  It was about more than leaving behind a house or some money or some other material possession.  It was about instilling integrity, character, and an undying love for God in your children and your children’s children and on down the line.

When we are facing our final moments here on Earth, will we look back over our life with regrets about how we worked too much or were gone too much?  I certainly hope that will not be the case.  I pray that I am able to look back at my life with no regrets knowing that I did everything in my power to leave behind a Godly legacy for my family.  In the end that will mean so much more than anything that we could have possibly done or left behind.

For some people, that Godly legacy hasn’t been demonstrated by the generations before them.  Think about how rewarding it will be to one day look back and know that God was able to use you to start a legacy.  I can’t promise that it will be an easy thing to do, but it is certainly a cause worth fighting for.  The good news is that you won’t fight alone.  For others, like me, who have been blessed with families who have left behind and are leaving behind a legacy, it is now time to pick up the torch.  It is time to prepare the future generations to be bold in their faith so that they too can leave a legacy.

How will those that you leave behind remember you?  If it won’t be the way that you want to be remembered, then what are you going to do to change that?  It’s time to be bold and intentional with our faith.  We can’t just sit by and watch anymore.  We must be courageous.

-James

6 thoughts on “Leaving A Legacy

  1. I can’t remember exactly when I ran into this scripture but it has always stuck with me:

    2 Tim 1:5 I am reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.

    Maybe it is because I didn’t grow up in a Christian home, but this reminds me that faith begins somewhere, and in my family it begins with me, and that is a pretty awesome legacy. (the beginning of one anyway)

    1. I think it is really cool that you will be able to look back and see that you were able to break the chain in your family. Future generations will be able to look back and see that the legacy began with you and Ted. That’s an awesome thought!

  2. James, your post reminds me that people often define themselves by what they “do for a living” vs. who they are in Christ. No one on their deathbed says they wished they’d made more money, no? Perhaps God is trying to tell us that people will not always remember what we did as much as how we made them feel. He is in the business of spreading His love to all the world through His people being faithful conduits of His power and love. And as you pointed out, that won’t happen unless we stand up and take up that torch to live intentionally, allowing God’s love energy. courage, and power to flow through us.

    1. We definitely live in a society that defines people by what they do for a living. It’s time for the church to break that mold. I think it is difficult for most because of the alienation that it causes when we set ourselves apart.

  3. Hey James, great post. Even now, you and Callie are leaving a legacy through all that do with Canvas youth. Thank you for pouring so much of yourselves into the next Canvas generation.

    1. We really enjoy working with the youth, and I hope that we are able to leave a legacy with them. I know that God has a call on their lives, and I hope to see that call fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

