Embracing Change and Challenge

God has been speaking to my heart about places in which He wants to bring change. He said that He means to challenge His people to a deeper knowledge and working of His Spirit. This means giving up old ways of thinking, whether from old training, tradition, or just plain habit. Change can be scary, but it doesn’t have to be, especially when we know whom we have on our side.

 
Romans 8: 37-39 {NASB}“But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
 
Sometimes change is not all that dramatic. There are times when God implements small, continual, simple changes in our lives in order to slowly bring us back into alignment with His will. If we are obedient, after a time, when we look back on the differences in the patterns in our tapestries, we wonder how the picture came to be so significant. Certainly we did not have the strength, patience, nor indeed, even the sanity to create something of consequence.
 
The point is that we need to be prepared to step out into that which God has called us. In our day-to-day lives, that means being cognizant of the long reaching effects of our words, behaviors, and attitudes. It is not easy to live as a Christ-follower, but it IS POSSIBLE! We can choose to actively listen to the Holy Spirit vs. allowing our lives to fritter away as inconsequential, always living within our comfort zone. He is calling us to be fearless in relentless pursuit of the upward call of Christ, to win the race through passion that produces perseverance and character. Meditation in prayer is essential to this task and mindset.
 
Acts 20: 24 {NASB} “ But I do not consider my life of any account as dear to myself, so that I may finish my course and the  ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify solemnly of the gospel of the grace of God.”
 
Lastly, I will say emphatically that we are NOT to do these things in our own strength, attempting vainly to reach the goal to which we have been called. NO human being to date, save Jesus Christ, has the strength to live this way without eventually crumbling in abject failure. That is why we need a Savior. The good news is that we HAVE ONE!!! It is only by throwing ourselves on His mercy and strength we can accomplish what He says is possible.  He spoke through Paul, instructing us:
 
Galatians 2: 20 {NASB} “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.”
 
I am looking forward to all the changes God is bringing into my life through His challenges to my everyday thoughts, actions, attitudes, and behaviors. Pray for me in this endeavor; I promise to pray for you all as well.
 
~Denise
 
One thought on “Embracing Change and Challenge

  1. Thanks for this great post, Denise. God’s been gently prodding me as well to carefully guard my thoughts and actions and to consider them as something of consequence. It’s hard to break old patterns, especially the ones we think have no consequence. It’s good to know that we have an awesome church family holding each other up as we are rising up to be the people that God has called up to be.

Leave a Reply

