We Have A Strong City

“We have a strong city; God makes salvation its walls and ramparts. Open the gates that the righteous nation may enter, the nation that keeps faith. You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord is the Rock eternal. He humbles those who dwell on high, he lays the lofty city low; he levels it to the ground and casts it down to the dust, feet trample it down-the feet of the oppressed, the footsteps of the poor. The path of the righteous is level. O upright one, you make the way of the righteous smooth. Yes, Lord, walking in the way of your laws we wait for you; your name and renown are the desires of our hearts.”

~Isaiah 26:1-7

I’ve been considering this scripture all week. I keep thinking about walls coming down. We all have walls. They were put up to protect us and keep out the unwanted. The problem with walls is that even though we keep things out, we keep ourselves from coming out as well. We remain confined without growth. We define our safety within our walls, but at the same time confine our God-given talents, abilities, and stunt or postpone his purpose for us. Our fears are hindering us from actively following His plan. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to miss out on His plan for me nor His promises. I want these walls to come down. I don’t know how this happens except for fervent prayer and seeking Him.  Trusting that He is my security. This can’t be all there is. This can’t be it. I don’t want to be confined to my false sense of security. My security is remaining in Him daily, trusting for my every need met while at the same time putting forth my time and energy in pouring into the others around me.

Friends, I need words and boldness to do this. I need to stop being afraid. I need these walls to come down so I can reach up and reach out. I know I’m not alone in this. What’s holding you back? Keep me in your prayers and I’ll hold you up as well.

~Janean

2 thoughts on “We Have A Strong City

  1. Thank you for this post Janean. I think what holds many of us back is a fear of being hurt and having nothing to shore up the weak places in our souls from the damage done by others in the world. It may be as simple as a fear that others will be indifferent to our pain. Trusting that God is our security might be intellectually uncomplicated, but it is by no means easy in terms of how we live our lives, no?

    I’ve found in my own walk that while transparency is difficult, living in an isolated bubble is much more problematic since there is no fellowship, community, or the kind of support gained therein. God’s opinion of us outweighs even our own, much less anyone else’s. He is our ultimate support when everyone and everything else has failed. That alone has given me more courage to “step out” of my comfort zone. Thank you for all your prayers and support…I promise to pray for you about this as well. You’re a wonderful sister in Christ!

    1. Janean our walk with the Lord is an on going journey and that you have become aware of the “openness ” seems to tell me you are 1/2 way there. Faith steps may be are needed.. The “Footsteps” picture where the pilgrim questions his Lord as to “why the Lord was not there in the dark times ” and the Lord’s reply that that was the time that He was carrying the pilgrim.
      I heard a sermon recently about a young Nepalese man who saw and understood the serious social problems facing Nepal and turned to Communism as an answer. A Christian pastor told him that a creed that only changed the outside and did not change the heart was bound to failure. The young man became a christian as he came to understand that Christ changes the inside and that reflects in changes in what we do, what we say and who we are. God bless in your adventure for the Lord.. 68 years saved and loving Him still.

Leave a Reply

