Dare To Trust

I have been reading the book Radical by David Platt. I can’t say I agree with everything that is written but there have been a few chapters that have challenged my faith and my “living out.” Or, how I live my life as a Christian. There is a quote in the book that is challenging me in extraordinary ways so I thought I would share it with. Let me know what you think. Agree/Disagree?

Too long have we been waiting for one another to begin! The time for waiting is past!…. Should such men as we fear? Before the whole world, aye, before the sleepy, lukewarm faithless, namby-pamby Christian world, we will dare to trust our God…. and we will do it with His joy unspeakable singing aloud in our hearts. We will a thousand times sooner die trusting only in our God than live trusting in man. And when we come to this position the battle is already won, and the end of the glorious campaign in sight. We will have the real Holiness of God, not the sickly stuff of talk and dainty words and pretty thoughts; we will have Masculine Holiness, one of daring faith and works of Jesus Christ. ~C.T. Studd (missionary)

~Angela

12 thoughts on “Dare To Trust

  1. Powerful quote from a pretty amazing man. I just read a CT Studd biography written by his son-in-law and he definitely lived out a ‘daring faith’ while he blazed a trail for the Gospel through all of Africa. Thanks for sharing this today.

  2. I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ll admit this paragraph is written above my grade level. it’s difficult for me to follow the core point. That said, perhaps “Masculine Holliness” and “daring faith” could mean we should take up our faith like NFL players take the field before a game. In that case, I agree entirely. (Sorry – I have Football Fever)

    1. I think to understand this quote, it is important to note that CT Studd wholeheartedly took up his cross, or was willing to die so that the gospel could be heard in all the corners of the Earth. And yes, I think compairing it to football, may be reasonable…..

  3. This is a timely call to spiritual arms for Christians, particularly in the west. Whenever I look at the faith of persecuted Christians in places such as China, India, Indonesia, and Sudan, I think it puts us to shame. They fully depend on God for their very lives every day. Would that we had even a thimbleful of their faith. Their faith is the Biblical faith that Moses, David, Abraham, Paul, Peter, and James had. I think, “What would happen if we walked in the power of that type of faith?” Most importantly, how can *I* begin doing this right this second and keep walking thus?

    1. Denise, This quote struck a cord with me in that it addresses our pointing fingers as if ministry is someone else’s call. We don’t always address the true meaning of discipleship which includes ultimate sacrifice with our focus of God’s eternal promise.

  4. for so many, I think, daring to trust in God, is not so far different then Trusting in Man… at least this is how I have felt…. but I have grown to know that trusting in God is by far easier, for me, then to trust in Man… that is still a very hard thing for me to do… I just know now, I need to Learn how to find those worthy of my trust, and well, that not an easy thing to do!

    1. This is an interesting thought that you brought up. I think CT Studd is challenging us to trust more in God and less in man. Challenging us to understand the beauty and calling of God’s promises in our lives. When we see God first it is easier to look into the eyes of people and see God’s plan for them and not all of our own misconceptions and pre-drawn conclusions. When we celebrate what God is capable of doing in those we love, trust becomes not a matter of what a person does but who’s they are.

  5. Whether I agree or disagree, the point would be mute. The statement leaves me squirming, especially with my current situation. I was taking a serious look at the job I have now and seriously weighing all that it does and does not provide, as far as our needs. I’m scared. I know that all the way up to this point, I’ve been forced to look at God and not look at the circumstances around me. Every time I do, everything looks daunting. It’s the joy part that I’m struggling with right now. I’m not necessarily feeling exuberant like this C.T. fella seems to suggest we should be feeling. Maybe I’m just not masculine enough.

    1. lol, I think we should leave the masculinity to God and focus on his promises. I think that is the challenge that CT brings to me. His focus isn’t on the moment or the things of this time or place but on the promises of God, the eternal. He sees things as one way, willing to sacrifice all in this place to fully embrace what is to come. I don’t think this is taught in our society but learned when we lean in on His word. Discipleship is a fire that burns in urgency knowing our calling isn’t to the moment but to the eternal, ours and those around us. And more often than not our joy comes from the unseen and not from anything around us.

  6. I think C.T. Studd was saying that our “masculine holiness” comes from God Himself, not inside us. I think he is speaking of the spiritual principles of masculine and feminine. The church as a whole is always feminine compared to God, since we are always the receivers of His grace, power, and joy. He is always masculine in that He is always giving and creating, penetrating the darkness with His light and love.

    We make the decision to follow Him, have faith in Him, and then He supplies the rest. Choosing faith is a scary thing because it means trusting in someone else besides ourselves to do something. Sometimes our joy is a choice, not something we necessarily feel. I’ve been through this myself many times over the years when my life looked particularly bleak, and there was nothing there BUT Jesus to trust in since I could not even trust myself to make the right choices.

    Janean, I don’t think the point of your choice is moot at all, for it involves the empowerment of your soul. God has gifted you in myriad ways. Your choice is of ultimate importance in the life of the church, for the health of the other parts of the body depend upon you and each of the rest of us doing what He created us to do.

  7. Thanks, Denise. I think what I question is the “unspeakable joy singing aloud”. It’s not that this doesn’t happen for some people. I have been stepping out of the boat for the past couple of years and God has changed me in so many ways but each time I do it, I don’t seem to have what I have understood C.T. Studd to be describing. All I have experienced is a still, quietness in my soul which has been helping me be patient. What he is describing seems so abstract to me. I guess that’s why I neither agree or disagree. It made me question this morning, what’s the matter with me? You are right, though, that God supplies the rest. I’ve been living off of that the past few months. Just wished I had more fervency in my walk, I guess or at least knew what that meant.

Leave a Reply

