Courage

We have had a lot of instances recently that have paralyzed my daughter with fear.

As a mom it is about the worst thing to watch, a child who has always been fearless realize that there are things in life that are bigger than them. I am often torn between not having her push through or having her do the thing she is most afraid of.

Some of her fears are understandable, others just simply irrational.

I have the same fears. Things in my life that paralyze the simplest of decisions. Some are understandable, some are simply irrational.

Courage is lonely, because no one else can overcome our fears for us. I am a faithful woman and believe that my God is with me through all things. I believe he is my strength and power. I also believe that sometimes the things I want to do th most require a step of faith, I mean courage. We can know all the right answers and have great inspiration from our friends but it still comes down to our own personal decision to move.

Like Peter on the water, he alone had to make the decision to go. God called. Peter had to decide for himself if it was worth it. And God was there to lend him a hand the moment he needed help. I like knowing that God is there, that even though I have to make the decision on my own, He has called me and he will be there with me.

While the feeling of fear may always exist and even sometimes win, I hope I can teach my daughter that in her great steps of faith and courage her God will be there to see her through it.

Are you in a place where fear is paralyzing you? Are you ready to take that step of faith and trust God will be there with you?

~Angela

7 thoughts on “Courage

  1. Thank you for this post, Angela! It is precisely what I needed today! It reminds me of something I recently read by Joyce Meyer . She said that we are partners with God, that we cannot do His part, and He will not do our part. He supplies us, but we need to be the ones who take the steps of faith. We must make the decision to go, and then take that first step. He holds our hand, yet expects us to use what we have already been given to walk that out in life.

    I’ve found that most often, when I am paralyzed by my fears, it is due to having changed my focus. Instead of concentrating on His completeness, I am looking at the circumstances and my own frailties. I am trying to “figure it all out” with what brain power I have.

    In reality, all I have to do is trust Him and put one foot ahead of the other. I try to remember that all I have to be concerned about is this very moment, and the task that is in front of me…doing that well, being joyfully involved in pursuit of excellence, remembering where the strength, wherewithal, and peace in the journey reside. In Him, in His presence. In boundless joys.

    1. “….all I have to do is trust Him and put one foot ahead of the other.” sooooo true and one of the hardest things we do. Trust God or be paralyzed by fear, that is my mantra when I face fear in the face…. hopefully more times than not we can all choose to trust and move and live the life He has planned for us.

  2. You’re so right, Angela. I wish I could say it’s gotten easier to take those steps of faith, but with each one, it takes the courage you were talking about. I don’t know if there’s ever been a “no sweat it” for me when it comes to that. great post!

Leave a Reply

