The Road Not Taken

Have you ever heard God’s voice?  What did He tell you?  Was it a reassurance, a comfort in your time of grief, a calming word in a time of chaos?  Was it a rebuking, a correction, a gentle chastening?  Did God give you a mission?  Other then the Great Commission of course, did He give you a task, or show you a path He wanted you to take?

I ran from God for years.  Not necessarily an all out sprint, but just enough of a pace to stay off the radar (at least in my mind).  Only in the last year or two have I actually stopped and let Him catch up.  Rather, allow myself to catch up to His calling.

The way is narrow, and there will be suffering.  But we can count it all joy, because the only way to fulfill our lives and His purpose, is to take the path He directs us to.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.”

Since I have been on the path He created for me, I have never felt as fulfilled as I do now.  It isn’t all sunshine and rainbows, but I know that I’m heading in the right direction.

Robert Frost said in a well known poem,
“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference”

What road are you to be taking?  Where is God leading you?

A.W. Tozer writes in The Pursuit of God,

“The Voice of God is a friendly Voice.  No one need fear to listen to it unless he has already made up his mind to resist it.”

Are you resisting?

Pressing toward the mark,
Ashleigh

2 thoughts on “The Road Not Taken

  1. Great, thoughtful post, Ashleigh! Many times I’ve found that people do not recognize the voice of God because they’ve not known how to quiet their hearts and minds before Him in order to understand when He is speaking vs. what our own thoughts are. As Nick was saying this past Sunday, our society has become “short-term memory” oriented due to overdependence on electronic media, which in turn causes us to expect definitive answers as immediately as broad-band can give them. Slowing down enough to truly give God all our attention helps clear everything else out of the way. No distractions.

    I’ve found that most times it takes practice to know His voice, for that recognition initially may take the form of impressions in the back of the mind. Meditation on Him, practicing His presence is key. Perhaps that is why He tells us to go to our “secret place”, a prayer closet, if you will. It is there that He gives us the refreshment we so desperately need.

  2. I often think that I am on the right path when I am the one doing the most changing 😉 I love the post, and hope we all take a little time to listen and know His plan for our lives…. it is true that even inspite of suffering, when we are in His graces the joy abounds….

Leave a Reply

