Hmmm I’m Thinking

Lately, I’ve been thinking about how people view us as Christians. We undoubtedly have access to the most amazing Creator and we’re able to call HIM Father. Every day I am reminded that He makes Himself known in many ways. From Nature to the Word of God – He’s known. In Philippians, Paul writes that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. Sounds like God has a plan. He’s going to make sure that everyone will know. One question that has come through all this thinking is what are we as individuals being known for? When someone mentions your name, do they instinctively say, “Yeah so and so is a man/woman of God?” Do they see Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Gentleness, Faithfulness and Self-Control?
 
I ask these questions to myself from time to time because one of the biggest weaknesses I have is procrastination. If I don’t constantly challenge myself and ask these kinds of questions then I know I won’t want to change. My Pastor years ago said if we continually want to better ourselves at least 1 percent every week then by the end of the year we have improved over 50%! How amazing is that?!
 
How do you motivate yourself to continually want to grow in your walk with God? Is there a weakness that stops you from growing?
 
In His Grip,
Nate
3 thoughts on “Hmmm I’m Thinking

  1. Thank you for writing about this subject, Nate. It’s important to constantly take the challenges that the Holy Spirit is giving us to help us grow. The thing that motivates me in my relationship with God is that I know I can do nothing apart from Him. He is my lifeblood and my energy, the source of any love I am able to give to those around me, the force behind any creative intellect or accomplishment. I too, have a problem with procrastination, mostly from fear spawned from perfectionistic tendencies…”If it’s not perfect, it’s worthless” type thing.

    The other thing that motivates me is that I do not want to be the type of person that waits for pain to come in order to change my direction or attitude. I realize that pain and suffering in life is inevitable, but I think it makes God’s heart sad when His people will not repent unless pain is involved. And I’d like to believe that I can give joy to my Lord!

  2. Thanks for sharing Denise. I think you hit it on the nail when you you said, He is my life blood and source of energy. I know in john 15, Jesus makes that perfectly clear. “I am vine, you are the branches, if you remain in me, you will bear much fruit. Apart from me, you can not do anything.”

  3. Great thought provoking questions…. I think my greatest motivator came a few years ago, I just decided that I wanted people to look at my life and think, that is impossible and I could say “Anything is possible w/God” I want that kind of life, one that points to His Glory… even if it means showing others how much I need forgiveness, mercy and grace……

    and my greatest weakness is fear…. it stops me from doing alot of the things I want to do…. but the more I trust in God, I don’t use my fear as an excuse anymore…. I look for it to teach me how anything can be overcome.

Leave a Reply

