Audience of One

                Over the past several months, the Lord has continued to speak to me about identity.   I feel like it is a constantly growing problem in the church today.  We, as Christians, are so caught up in what others think about us and our identity through the world view that we forget that our identity has nothing to do with any of that.  I want to take a second to encourage those that feel like they don’t know who they are or who are struggling to find their way.

                The first step to discovering our true identity is understanding that our identity has nothing to do with what other people might think of us.  When we realize that our identity is found in the One that created us the way that we are for a reason, barriers are broken, strongholds are torn down, and doors are opened.  I feel like we have become bogged down trying to live our lives to please those around us.  God paid the ultimate price for us, and it is time to begin living our lives for an audience of one.

                Psalm 139:14 tells me that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  John 1:12 tells me that I am a child of God.  John 15:15 tells me that I am a friend of Christ.  Romans 5:1 tells me that I am justified through faith.  1 Corinthians 6:20 tells me that I was bought with a price.  Colossians 1:13-14 tells me that I have been redeemed and am forgiven of all my sins.  Romans 8:1 tells me that I am free from condemnation because I am in Christ Jesus.  Old things have passed away, and behold, all things have become new.  Romans 8:28 tells me that all things work together for the good of those who are in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 1:6 tells me that God will complete the good work that He has started in me.  2 Timothy 1:7 tells me that I have not been given a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind.  Ephesians 2:10 tells me that I am God’s workmanship.  I could go on and on.

                If we could every truly grasp how truly incredible we are in His eyes, everything else would begin to fade away.  It wouldn’t be important that we weren’t the most popular person at school or at work.  It wouldn’t matter what we wore or how we felt that day.  We could begin to live with the boldness that we are called to live with.  We could step out in faith with confidence knowing that the same God who created the world, lives in us. 

                I hope that each of you that read this blog understand how truly great you are in the eyes of God.  I am reminded of times when I was a kid, and I had done something that made my parents so very proud of me.  What an awesome feeling that was to know that the people who God chose to be my parents were pleased with me.  I can tell you now, though, that it is an even better feeling knowing that the God that created everything looks down on me with pure, unconditional love and joy.  It doesn’t matter what I have done in the past or even what I have done that day.  When I go to Him in true repentance, he casts my sins as far as the East is from the West, and He calls me son. 

May God’s love overwhelm you in a way that you have never experienced before!

-James

3 thoughts on “Audience of One

  1. James, thank you for this post…these are things that are deep struggles for many of God’s children. If a person has been raised with abundant critcism as opposed to encouragement, it is most difficult for them to believe that God {a child’s first idea about God comes from their parents} could love and approve of them.

    In the flesh we have nothing good in and of ourselves. Yet when we have Jesus residing in our souls, all that changes, for He is the essence of goodness and love. The struggle between the fleshly self and the spiritual self can cause deep confusion about identity; this is why we must always look at ourselves in terms of WHO we are as opposed to what we are, or have done. That view is what God uses to change us, sanctify us, helping us to work out our salvation. A changed life grows out of a changed heart. Too often we get this backwards, placing ourselves on “works” treadmills, in actuality thinking that we must earn God’s love and our salvation, sanctification, and growth.

    1. It is such a struggle these days because it seems we are innundated with either criticism or images of what we “should” be or look like. Being okay with how God made us, owning it, and living in our strengths and letting Him shine through in our weakness is a difficult but rewarding process.

  2. I want to bottle up what you said and give it away to all those I know who are in need of such freedom. I spoke with a woman yesterday and told her that God loved her right where she was at in that very moment…. she asked my why?

    My heart breaks for those who can’t see how much they are loved by God…. we are truly blessed to know the truth and even when we don’t always believe it, it is still there….

Leave a Reply

