How Can You Love Me

Where do we go when our soul feels as ugly as hell itself, and we wonder if we even dare to believe God’s statements and promises about how He sees us and love us? If we are honest with ourselves, even “seasoned” Christians struggle with this at times. God showed me scripture that blew me away. A Christian artist named Michael Card turned it into a song on one of his albums, years ago. It’s adapted from the Song of Solomon :

 Arise, My Love
by Michael Card

Arise, my love, my lovely one come,
The winter is past and the rains are gone.
The flowers appear, it’s the season of song,
My beautiful one, arise and come with me.

Who is it that appears like the dawn?
As fair as the moon, as bright as the sun?
Show me your face, let me hear your voice.
My beautiful one, arise and come with me.

Set me like a seal on your heart,
For love is unyielding as the grave.
The flash of it is a jealous fire,
No flood can quench,
For love is as strong as death.

Arise my love and come with me
Before the dawn breaks and the shadows flee.
You ravished my heart with just one glance
My beautiful one, arise and come with me.

Set me like a seal on your heart,
For love is unyielding as the grave.
The flash of it is a jealous fire,
No flood can quench,
For love is as strong as death.

Do not arouse or awaken love
Until it so desires.

Arise, my love, my lovely one come,
The winter is past and the rains are gone.
The flowers appear, it’s season of song,
My beautiful one, arise and come with me.
I am my love’s, my beloved is mine.
Arise and come with me.

 

This awakening is in tune with all that God has been speaking to many of us in His body lately. He tells us that He is going to do a new thing, and won’t we be aware of it? The very personal nature of His love completely astounds my heart and mind, because He is saying, “Take your mind off your sin and onto My view of you and the plans I have for you.”   

 What we focus on is what we become, no? Yahweh is the very nature of what it means to “think positive”. Lest that sound like a New Age idea, it is our focus on Him, and allowing His power to flow through us, not the positive thinking itself that provides us with new vision, new paradigms, new LIFE. He sees us through Jesus’ blood, meaning that He loves us as much as He loves Jesus, His Son. Our minds cannot wrap themselves around this concept because it transcends reason. Amazing Love, how can it be, that You my God would die for me….a broken, powerless sinner.

 ~Denise

One thought on “How Can You Love Me

  1. Wonderful post, my friend. We are truly blessed by a loving Father. Adopted into an amazing family with a big brother capable of the ulitmate sacrifice.

    You quote one of my favorite worship songs on the end… the part where it goes…. You Are My King…. I love that proclamation because ultimately it declares my understanding of Him above all else….

Leave a Reply

