Hallway

You couldn’t pass from one class to another without bumping people, because the halls were so crowded.  Regardless of the endless “excuse me” and “sorry”, this one guy either thought I was dumb enough to believe an elbow slap would actually hurt him or he was looking for a fight.
 
It was eighth grade for me.  For him, it must have been his fourth year in junior high.  It was rumored that he was “supposed to be in the eleventh grade”.  No doubt he was bigger than me.  And he was not intimidated by me, like I was by him.
 
When he stopped me to challenge why I had elbowed him, he added “let’s take this outside”.    I could almost feel his breath on my forehead as he towered over me in the hallway.
Oh, Lord, I thought.  I don’t want to fight.  What do I do?

Then, out of my mouth came these words:
 “If you’re not man enough to stand here and talk about it, then you’re not man enough to go outside.”
What did I just say?  
He’s gonna pound me right here and now.  
Why aren’t any teachers around  to protect me?

He must have been as surprised as me.  After a long silence, he said, “don’t worry about it.”  And he walked away.  
What a relief!
That was then.  This is now.

Just as that big ol’ boy was confused, intolerant, or both, we sometimes find ourselves facing a similar enemy.  Diffuse such a situation and avoid pain and suffering.

But how?
Good question.
I don’t have that answer.   (Why did I even type the question?)
Brace yourself for the occasional and uncomfortable confrontation.  You probably aren’t to blame anyway.  
Just get out the hallway as fast as you can.  And pray.
 
God Bless,
Andy
3 thoughts on “Hallway

  1. Andy, you actually answered your own question. You stood your ground and spoke the words that the Holy Spirit gave you to speak. You spoke no inflammatory words, just a verbal hand up to say that the evil stops here. I am reminded of II Chronicles 20:15 where the Lord tells Jehoshaphat through Jahaziel, “…Do not fear or be dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.” Then in verse 17, “You need not fight in this battle; station yourselves, stand and see the salvation of the Lord on your behalf.” STAND…that was all you did. Still, it behooves us to avoid trouble if possible and “get out of the hallway as fast as you can”, praying unceasingly to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

