To An Unknown God

For as I walked around and looked carefully at your objects of worship, I even found an altar with this inscription: TO AN UNKNOWN GOD. So you are ignorant of the very thing you worship—and this is what I am going to proclaim to you.~Acts 17:23

Sometimes I don’t enjoy getting out amongst the masses, especially when it comes to going to Turkey Creek or any other shopping center for that matter. It’s not the lines or the rude shoppers that bother me as much as it is the hollowness that you can see in people’s lives. It’s like they subconsciously are aware of their depravity and try to fill the void with mass consumption. I see people fill their buggies and afterwards fill their stomachs and still look and act unsatisfied. At the risk of sounding oversimplified, to me it is the evidence of the lack of God in so many people’s lives.

With as many people who go to church, you wouldn’t think there would be so many God-depraved people, but there are. So many people with so many different reasons have lacked or have never experienced the fullness of God in their lives. Even those of us who have experienced God, get off course from time to time and forget to walk in His grace. Some of us can feel the parchedness of not abiding in Him. Some of us are too busy to notice, but notice something is missing. Here is what I notice, though, when God isn’t in the picture

Love can end up being no more than covetous lust.

A sunset is no more than an end to another day.

A sunrise is just another awakening to a miserable state.

Passion becomes nothing more than hard work.

Purpose is merely defined as our current circumstances.

God’s precepts, in other words, the very essence of His character, becomes nothing more than a set of rules too hard to follow.

Relationships with each other are only for a momentary pleasure instead of a fruitful investment.

Church becomes nothing more than a punctuation mark to sum up the end of our week.

Life becomes nothing more than another space of existence.

The list could go on and on describing a world without God. There is so much more to living than what we are doing right now.  My last name is Thorne . I was born with characteristics that are unique to my family. I was also born of this world and have characteristics of sin and flesh. However, I have been born again. I’m no longer of this world. I belong to a heavenly Father. As a daughter, I bear the characteristics of Him and have full access to His abundant life. Abide in Him. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. ~ John 10:10

~Janean

5 thoughts on “To An Unknown God

  1. Thank you for this excellent blog Janean! It really reminds me of Ecclesiastes where Solomon concludes the book by saying precisely what you have expressed, that a God-deprived life comes to nothing but dust and emptiness. Jesus is light, life, and love…He is the very substance of those things; how can there be fulfillment aside from Him?

Leave a Reply

