Fortune

It was Saturday.  Earlier in the day, we had two baseball tournaments.  After the last game ended, we rushed home and packed the van for a day trip that would last into the night.  Then we headed for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 

“I am sorry.  The lot is full.  We can’t let any more cars in here.”  The park ranger was not to blame.  We got there as soon as we could, but it wasn’t soon enough.  We really wanted to see the famous synchronous fire flies at Elkmont.  The only way up there was to either rent a camp site (six months in advance) or ride the trolley from the visitors center.

“What are we going to do now?”

We started to drive home.  On the way, we decided to visit Market Square in downtown Knoxville.  When we got there, the kids were hungry so we took them for something to eat at a sushi place.  I ordered sushi while Jill and the kids ordered more conservatively.  We had a great time sharing the sushi and posting pictures on Facebook.  At the end of the meal, they brought us fortune cookies.  Mine said, “You will make a change for the better.”  Jill and I agreed that it couldn’t get much better.

The fortune cookie doesn’t really mean anything.  It’s just for fun.  But it made me look at my life.  I’ve seen a lot.  I’ve made some horrible mistakes.  I’ve shared some of my struggles and sorrows on this blog.  So you know that I have good times and bad.  Don’t we all? 

Maybe you feel like you could use a change for the better.  I’ve been there too.  Hang in there.  Keep the faith.  Talk to God about it.  It will get better. 

I am thankful for my wife and our kids.  My purpose, my calling, is to love and care for them.  There are things that we cannot change.  With that in mind, I wouldn’t change a thing.  God has been good to me.

Andy Brasfield
2 thoughts on “Fortune

  1. There is an old saying…”I’m not where I’m supposed to be, but thanks be to God, I’m not where I used to be!” I think of this and thank Jesus for every victory He has won in my life. The past is gone; it does not have to rule my future. This present moment is all we really have…what will I/we choose to do with that and for whom? I want to listen for every thing that God wants me to hear/have/do, because He said if we put Him first, He will give us the desires of our hearts. To me that means that if I give Him my life continually, every moment at a time, He will do the most loving thing for everyone involved. And as a by-product, He will either give me/you/us what we desire, or else He will change the desires of our hearts. Either way, we win! YES, good things are coming our way, and we WILL make a change for the better!

  2. Andy, you have one of the best families on the planet. You are truly blessed beyond measure. I’m blessed to be a part of it in whatever ways I have been or will be. You’re right. It doesn’t get much better!

Leave a Reply

