Love Me For Me

I have spent the past couple of years really struggling with one simple concept.  How hard is it to find a significant other who truly loves me for me? 

 When we reach a certain point in our lives, we really start craving that true love and longing from a significant other.  Some people are blessed with God sending them their partner almost immediately.  Some people wait for what seems like an eternity, and then find their blessings.  In my situation, I found what I thought was my blessing, but turned out after 9 years of marriage, life had other plans. My marriage fell apart and I thought “God, why?  Why would You take away the one person who loved me for me?!?!?” 

 But now, months later, I find myself finally understanding something.  God longs to be our first love,  He loves and pursues me more than any human possibly could.  I’m not saying by any means that God took my marriage away from me and a daddy away from my girls just to get my attention. It definitely taught me to lean on Him even more, rekindling our love and relationship.

I was drawn to Song of Solomon shortly after making the decision to end my marriage.  It was a very hard time in my life and God reminded me of a few things about His Love for me.  He reminded me that He thinks I am perfect and beautiful.  He pursues me daily.  He delights in me.  He desires to be with me and desires my company.  He says I am His and He is mine.  The best thing of all, He told me His love, desire and longing for me is eternal and unconditional.  I think that is just simply amazing. Someone who is so perfect, pure and loving wants to have an eternal relationship with me.  He calls for me daily, wants to have intimate time daily, just me and Him.

 I don’t understand or deserve any of His emotions or the love He shows me. I find delight in my first Love. I know that no matter if it is 3 months from now or 30 years from now, God will be there. He is holding me through the storms that come. He will whisper, “I am here, My love.  I will never leave or forsake you, My love.” That is the most awesome feeling in the world.  He constantly pursues me. I will strive to constantly pursue my Love, who will never ever leave or put any other above me.  I am His number one priority and He promises to grant me the desires of my heart.  I am so thankful to have a God who loves me for me and will never forsake me. 

I know God has a special someone out there who is waiting for me, but I also know now, I will find him through God.  And I can’t wait to see what He provides for me and my girls.  🙂

Shannon.

Guest Post: are you thinking to yourself…”how come she gets to write for the blog?” Good question. Do you have something to share, a testimony, a reaction to a sermon at Canvas Church or a thought on how God is working in you and through you in this very moment? We want to read about it. Email me at angela@mycanvaschurch.com and I will do my best to add it into our blog.

8 thoughts on “Love Me For Me

  1. Thank you for this post, Shannon. I needed to be reminded that God pursues me daily…daily! It is critical to remember that we are to pursue HIM first amongst all the things we think about and do during our days here on earth. We cannot truly know His blessings or His heart for us and our purposes here without that.

  2. Thank you for your openness. It’s always a blessing to see how God is moving in people’s lives. He is so awesome.

  3. Thank you for sharing your story. The greatest gift we can give ourselves is the knowledge that He loves us above all else. I am glad you have found the one who loves you for you, pursues you and will never forsake you.

  4. Denise, you are absolutly right about persuing Him as well. He is truly our one Truse Love. It is mind blowing that He loves us so much.

  5. J-Rod,
    It feels great to be so open about my situation. I love letting people know of His everlasting Love He has for me, and everyone who will accept it! He is truly amazing.

  6. I’m blessed to say I’ve seen your progress up close and personal. I’m so proud to see the growing proccess for you. Ya know we both were in the same boat but God showed us he had a greater plan. Sis, I love you and I pray God continues to pour His blessings out on you.

    For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland. Isaiah 43:19(NLT)

    1. Julz,
      I can’t thank you enough for your support through all this! I’m so glad God placed you in my family. I am so excited about what God is doing for the both of us!

Leave a Reply

