From A Distance

“God is watching us, from a distance…??”
 
I was 12 years old, seventh grade and it was the first time I had to try out for a solo in the school choir.  The song was from on of my favorite singers, Bette Midler’s, it was “From a Distance.”   I stepped up in front of the rest of the 200 people choir and sang my heart out, and I got it!  I loved Bette Midler because her unique voice but I loved this song.  I sang the second verse, “From a distance we all have enough and no one is in need, there are no guns, no bombs and no disease, no hungry mouths to feed.  From a distance we are instruments, marching in the common band.  Playing songs of hope, playing songs of peace, they are the songs of every man.” Then the choir joined in, “God is watching us, God is watching us, God is watching us, from a distance.”  And I sang it and loved the words I was singing.  I believed in the idea that one day no one would be in need!

  But as I sing it today and as I reminisce on my fear of trying out for a solo, to the triumph of singing in front of the whole school I realize, God doesn’t watch us from a distance, my God is here.  How sad that we live in a generation that has separated God from our lives.  To you, God may be sitting on a throne high above the world, looking down and just moving us around like a big chess game, or as I heard a movie once say, “God is a mean kid with a magnifying glass and we are the ants below.” 

But the Bible says he is Emmanuel, God with us!  In John 14:15-21 “If you love me, obey my commandments.  And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you.  He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you know him, because he lives with you now and later will be in you. No, I will not abandon you as orphans—I will come to you. Soon the world will no longer see me, but you will see me. Since I live, you also will live. When I am raised to life again, you will know that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.” 

In Isaiah 8:8 it was prophesied that God would be with us, and it was so, when Jesus died on the cross and sent the Holy Spirit to reside in us, for all who will ask Him to.

 How amazing!

So, no, I don’t believe today that God is watching us from a distance, but he resides in me because I asked him to come into my heart, and He is in and with all who ask Him to reside in them for eternity.  God is with you, in the good times and in the bad times, God is with us.  Take comfort in your pain; take comfort in your sorrow that God is with us.  If you do not know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God is in you, would you ask Him to enter in?  The Bible is clear in Romans 10:9, that if we confess with our mouth (repent of our sins), and confess that Jesus is Lord and believe that He was risen from the dead, than you too can have eternal peace and comfort that God is with you, not just watching you from a distance.  Beloved, now is the time, He is calling you to Him today.
 
In Christ’s Everlasting Love,
Sue

Guest Post: are you thinking to yourself…”how come she gets to write for the blog?” Good question. Do you have something to share, a testimony, a reaction to a sermon at Canvas Church or a thought on how God is working in you and through you in this very moment? We want to read about it. Email me at angela@mycanvaschurch.com and I will do my best to add it into our blog.

4 thoughts on “From A Distance

  1. Awesome Sue! When I saw the tweet, and I thought about the song, I thought to myself HE is not at a distance. Exactly your thoughts as well. I’m so glad that our God is a personal God, not some far off kid with a magnifying glass. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Great post, Sue! You have expressed what has bothered me about that song for a long time, that God “watches from a distance”. He has spent an inordinate amount of time and scripture trying to tell us that He wants to be not just near us, but INSIDE us! Furthermore, He offers ANSWERS to the problems that people often seek through the things of this world or other gods that are truly no real gods at all. He is with us indeed, and wants to be intimately involved with our lives, as you have shared. Thank you for expressing your thoughts; they are wonderfully encouraging!

  3. Sue,

    From a distance…you captured my thoughts too! As a teen when this song came out I saw it as a song of hope and I too have found myself bothered by the words the past few months. God is here and near!

    I love what you wrote, especially about the Holy Spirit. In college, my friend told me that U2 song “She moves in Mysterious Ways.”, is about the Holy Spirit.

  4. Johnny take a walk
    With your sister the moon
    Let her pale light in
    To fill up your room
    You’ve been living underground
    Eating from a can
    You’ve been running away
    From what you don’t understand…
    Love

    She’s slipping
    You’re sliding down
    She’ll be there
    When you
    hit the ground

    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    She moves in mysterious ways
    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    She moves in mysterious ways
    O-o-oh

    Johnny take a dive
    With your sister in the rain
    Let her talk about the things
    You can’t explain
    To touch is to heal
    To hurt is to steal
    If you want to kiss the sky
    Better learn how to kneel
    On your knees boy

    She’s the wave
    She turns the tide
    She sees the man inside the child
    Yeah

    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    She moves in mysterious ways
    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    She moves in mysterious ways
    Love
    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    lift my days, light up my nights
    Love

    One day you will look… back
    And you’ll see… where
    You were held… how
    By this love… while
    You could stand there
    You could move on this moment
    Follow this feeling

    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    She moves in mysterious ways
    It’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right
    She moves in mysterious ways
    O-o-oh

    Oh love
    Oh love, lover
    Move you
    The spirit moves in mysterious ways
    Baby love me
    Move
    Baby love me
    Move you
    Baby love me
    Move with it
    She moves with it

    Lift my days, light up my nights

Leave a Reply

