Wisdom

During the month of April, my church started doing a curriculum about understanding the bible. And may I add, its been pretty good. I think it’s so cool that we’ve been teaching great ways to break down the bible and gaining a better understanding of the Word. Because of this, I have decided to do a deeper study of  understanding Wisdom. I think its important to really understand what wisdom is and how we apply it in our lives. I think any person regardless of where they are in their walk needs it.

As I study wisdom, I have learned that there are two types of wisdom, Earthly and Heavenly. You see, Earthly wisdom is what is being poured into us constantly from everything not from the Father. How many people do you know or even yourself  have been taught to go with their feeling or gut instincts? Key word being used is “their”. Being a person who sadly goes with his feelings, I realized that God wasn’t in the picture as much as I thought He was.

 
So how can we tell what’s God’s wisdom? In James 3:17 says “But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.” It’s amazing that we’re so quick to call a friend for advice instead of just going to God and asking for His. James 1:5-8 says “If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. Such people should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Their loyalty is divided between God and the world, and they are unstable in everything they do.”
 
Pretty big stuff if you ask me. The benefits from receiving His wisdom out weighs anything. Proverbs 3:13-18 “Blessed is the one who finds wisdom, and the one who gets understanding, for the gain from her is better than gain from silver and her profit better than gold. She is more precious than jewels, and nothing you desire can compare with her. Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honor, Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace…”

I hope that we can start leaning more on His wisdom because ultimately, the things we want and desire are there through Him.

peace and blessings,
Nate

6 thoughts on “Wisdom

  1. Thanks for this post Nate! Through the years, I’ve learned more how to quiet my heart before God to be able to hear what He has to say about things. I ask others about things solely in order to confirm what I believe God has said to me through His Word, circumstances, dreams, and what I believe I have heard from Him in meditative prayer. Thank you for your thoughts on this.

  2. I’ve always loved the scripture about asking God for wisdom. It’s one of His many awesome promises to us. If we ask, and believe He will give, then He will give us wisdom. No stipulations. We have a wonderful Savior.

    1. Ashleigh, your right. Its so simple but yet so many people do the opposite. We do serve a awesome Savior =)

Leave a Reply

