Contemplating Hopelessness…

 

I’m sure you’ve heard many stories or watched movies about struggle, adversity, anguish, oppression or all of the above… where the only motivation to endure was hope for something better. Shawshank Redemption, Cast Away and Star Wars are all examples. For many people, the hope we have in God is very similar.  I say similar, because the hope we have in God has far greater consequences than the outcome of the aforementioned movies. I feel hope is a gift from God, a gift manifest in the life and resurrection of Jesus (1 Peter 1:3 NIV). How interesting would movies be if hope is not part of the story? How significant would life be if the hope we have in Jesus was not granted by God?

For many, the mere idea of being hopeless can be… well… unbearable. But I challenge you to keep things in perspective. I understand life circumstances can present situations that seem hopeless (Proverbs 13:12 NIV) but these situations are Earthly… and Earthly hope has no power over Heavenly hope.

I’m constantly challenging myself to think differently. So for me, the idea of being hopeless is not unbearable… in fact it’s quite the opposite. I’m actually looking forward to the day I am hopeless… like my youngest Daughter Ellie is looking forward to her upcoming birthday party. I say so because Jesus is my hope, my foundation… and nothing Earthly can take that from me. I will have hope until I am with Jesus face to face. Then… and only then… will I give up my hope. 

Have you ever heard Jeremy Camp’s “There will be a day”? I’ve probably heard that song a hundred times… and to be honest… it never really spoke to me until recently. I’ve included some of the lyrics below (all credit goes to Mr. Camp, as I do not intend to infringe on copywrite laws)  

..but I hold on to this hope,

and the promise that he brings,

that there will be a place with no more suffering;

There will be a day,

with no more tears,

no more pain,

and no more fears.

There will be a day,

when the burdens of this place,

will be no more,

we’ll see Jesus face to face.

 

I’m intrigued by these lyrics… and this song is what changed my perspective on hope. As it says, “I hold on to this hope and the promise that he brings, there will be a day… a day of no more tears, pain, fears and burdens.”

That is the day I am looking forward to… because once we enter the gates of heaven, we will receive the most important things we’ve ever hoped for. Hope at that moment… will be like our flesh…. no longer needed. We will have Jesus face to face.

So I believe Heaven is tearless, painless, fearless and burdenless. I also believe it’s worryless, fleshless, hateless… and yes… even hopeless.

~Ted

8 thoughts on “Contemplating Hopelessness…

  1. Dude! Teddy! You da man. Always knock it out of the park. Definitely needed this this morn. Everytime I think of how awesome Heaven will be, I start tearing up with joy and HOPE!

  2. Oh, Brother, that was beautiful. I truely love your passian with some much you hold dear, your wonderful wife, your beautiful girls and your Religion. I believe Hope has always seen me through, even when it seemed no hope was there. I’m not always sure what I believe religously, but the more I learn, the more it fits in my belief of what love is. I love your words, and I love you so very much!!!!

Leave a Reply

