It’s Just A House

Wed night at Canvas, we had an awesome Prayer and Worship Service.  During the service Miss Katie took me aside and asked what I needed prayer for.  At first I said nothing (total lie), but she wouldn’t leave empty handed, so we went to the Women’s Ministry  Room to pray.  We talked about my many blessings, but I also mentioned a few things I needed prayer for.  One of which was my house.  I am behind on my mortgage, and my house is in need of repair, and I have trouble with the upkeep.  I also mentioned that I have considered selling it and moving to an apt.  In the discussion, she said, “It’s just a house.”

She is so right.  It is just a house.  I will be the same person and have the same family and friends no matter where I live.  Most of all, she said, “Jesus doesn’t care where you live.”  Also very true.  It is always drilled into Americans to have and to own.  But as Nick said yesterday morning in service, what good is it to own, if we don’t possess?  I may “own” a house, but I don’t love it and possess it.

In 2 Cor. 6:10 Paul says we can exist “having nothing, yet possessing everything.”  I could be down with that kind of life.  He also says in Phil 4:12, he has learned to be content whether abased or abounding.

How much different would our lives be without all the stuff?  How much more attention would we give God if we had to rely solely on Him for our next meal? Or if we had to pray that He would provide us a means for clean drinking water?  Or if we had to ask for His protection while we are being sold in to slavery?  What kind of slavery do we currently face?

In Prov 22:7, it says, “the borrower is slave to the lender.”  I’m not going so far as to say we can’t have debt.  By no means am I legalistic.  But think how much more freeing it would be if we owed no one anything except to share the Gospel, the Good News of Christ. 

A. W. Tozer writes, “Things have become necessary to us, a development never originally intended.  God’s gifts now take the place of God, and the whole course of nature is upset by the monstrous substitution.” At the end of this chapter in The Pursuit of God, he writes the following prayer.

Father, I want to know Thee, but my coward heart fears to give up its toys.  I cannot part with them without inward bleeding, and I do not try to hide from Thee the terror of the parting.  I come trembling, but I do come.  Please root from my heart all those things which I have cherished so long and which have become a part of my living self, so that Thou mayest enter and dwell there without a rival.  Then shalt Thou make the place of Thy feet glorious.  Then shall my heart have no need of the sun to shine in it, for Thyself wilt be the light of it, and there shall be no night there.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

It’s just a house.

~Ashleigh

8 thoughts on “It’s Just A House

  1. Great post Ashleigh (and there’s definitely wisdom in Katie’s words). I admit, I struggle with feeling a need to have “stuff”… and I need a reminder about what is truly important from time to time. Thank you for reminding me today.

  2. Wonderful blog, Ashleigh! Oh my, yes…worship the giver and not the gifts. We are His, and need to rest in that.

  3. Yet again, darling, you strike at the heart of matter. Well done. You’re going to make a wonderful pastor’s wife.

Leave a Reply

