Changing The Oil

This past winter, I bought a motorcycle. And let me tell you, I’ve been wanting one ever since I was a teenager. So when the I was able to buy one, I was more than excited about it. Because the bike sat for so long without being ridden, some general maintenance had to be done. I had a list of repairs and replacements like spark plugs, air filter, battery, cleaning out the carburetor, lubing up the chain, and changing the oil. A lot of stuff right? But I didn’t mind, because it would give me the chance to get familiar with my cruiser.

 

A couple of months pass and I have completed several things on my list except for changing the oil. Spring has literally sprung forward and the weather was gorgeous. I knew I wanted to go out and take it for a ride so I started rushing myself to get the last thing done. When I was done, I straddled the bike and started the engine. Wow, did it sound mean! I revved up the engine and it was loud, boisterous, and ready to meet the road. A few seconds later while my head was turned to the left, my right side started to feel wet. In the process of turning my head to see why I felt wet, I revved up the engine and received a face full of oil! My whole right side of my body and bike was covered with it. I realized that I did not put the oil cap back on hence me swimming in oil. The only thing I can do at that point is laugh.

 

That one little incident got me to think. How many times do we rush ourselves? Better yet, how often do we get impatient with God and start moving in our time and not His? If I can be real my fellow bloggers and readers, I think we’re all guilty of this. Maybe it has to do with our cultures “instant gratification” attitude? Fast food, Internet, I can go on but I’m pretty sure you get my drift. I would like to leave you guys with this scripture.

~Nathan

 
Be patient, therefore, brothers, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient about it, until it receives the early and the late rains. You also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand.James 5:7-8 
2 thoughts on “Changing The Oil

  1. Nathan, I know precisely what you mean about doing things in God’s timing, not ours. This has been true for me even in situations where I am waiting for Him to move to correct injustice. But everything is better in His timing; we just need to pay attention, as you pointed out. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Patience is a HUGE struggle for me. IT is certainly becoming better with age, and sometimes even laughable. Thanks for the encouragement to wait on God and live in His timing!

Leave a Reply

