I Believe I Can Fly

The other night I had a really strange dream. I dreamt I had somehow acquired the superpower to fly. There were others there that had recently received this power too, and were practicing doing just that over a body of water that looked as though it was part of a quarry. Everyone else was jumping off a stone wall to fly over the water to land up on another, higher stone wall on the other side. All of them began to shout out their encouragement to me to try out my own flight patterns.

Even though part of me knew I could fly, the logic of my mind said it was impossible for a human being to do so. Not wishing to disappoint my companions, I jumped into the air to get to the far stone wall…only…about 3/4 of the way there, something inside of me said, “Wait a minute, who do you think you are to think you can fly? Are you now like Superman?” At that moment of doubt, I began to fall into the water, just like Peter did when he stepped out of the boat on the Sea of Galilee to walk on the water towards Jesus. Peter began to sink because he took his eyes off the Lord and onto his situation and his own inadequacy. Jesus had been the one to make it possible for him to step onto the water in the first place…so why did he doubt?

At the end of my dream, I had been able to latch onto the opposite stone wall at the last moment, getting my toes a little wet in the process, and hanging on “by teeth and toenails” to that wall. My companions were disappointed and a little angry that I had doubted the power that had been given me, especially since I began doubting only at the end, after I could see that I could fly after all. So what was my problem?

There are many times that Christians sabotage their own walk with God, losing confidence in the gifts that God has given them because of lies they have believed about themselves, perhaps all their lives. They look at what they are doing and gasp, thinking, “Wait…I can’t do this!“ Whether it is weeds grown in our souls because of seeds of doubt planted by family members or lies the enemy has whispered in one’s ears to derail one’s ministry makes no difference in reality. It all boils down to the same thing: Are you willing to believe God that He has blessed you with the ability, strength, and wherewithal to accomplish His journey for you in this life or not? I am reminded of the popular Christian song whose lyrics say you are more than the sum of your mistakes, you’ve been remade. It’s the message of 2 Corinthians 5:17 : “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.”

Also, 2 Corinthians 4: 16-18: “Therefore, we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

At the end of my dream, holding onto that wall, my companions were flying around, shouting at me to try it again, to stop struggling and just BELIEVE I could do it! The dream ended as I was fighting to pull myself to the top of that wall, not knowing if I had the strength to do it. I thought I had to be at the top in order to try again. God says to me: Psalm 46:10: “Cease striving and know that I am God.”

Whether we realize it or not, we are totally dependent upon God, His strength, His grace, His energy, His willingness to guide us through our misconceptions, sins, and weaknesses. A friend of mine told me that she accomplished the goals she has through baby steps and being faithful, trusting those steps in Jesus’ strength. That wall is beginning to look a lot more doable! Not only will Jesus bring me to the top of that wall and make me fly, He will continue to supply that strength of superpowers as I continue to trust Him and walk with Him. God says to me: Hebrews 11:6: “And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.”

The message is clear: Trust and RELY on His strength, not your own. It’s OK to take baby steps. Be faithful to those steps and keep on believing, even when things look crazy and you think you cannot go on even one more step. It is HIS glory you are working for, so do not allow the enemy to convince you that if you succeed, it is because you are seeking your own glory. You will have failures along the way, but He is holding your hand and loves you even when you fail, ready to help you try again. Yep, I BELIEVE I CAN FLY!

~Denise

6 thoughts on “I Believe I Can Fly

  1. Yet another awesome blog Denise! 2 Cor 5:17 is my life verse. I have it tattooed on my ankle with a butterfly to symbolize rebirth. It’s awesome to me to know that I am new in Christ. Period. End of story. But the coolest part, is that new life in Christ is just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

