Storm

Looking back at the end of 2010, I remember being excited about what 2011 was going to bring within my church and myself. Growth, change, excitement, passion, and so much more. When the new year came, I felt ready to move mountains because everything was going so well. Then, it happened. Faster than I can recall, like a storm that suddenly comes out of no where. Being hit in every direction, I stumble and it’s not just me, I see it in my church. People hurting, sickness filling the air. Disparity in my church families eyes.

It’s so easy praising God and lifting His name when everything is going well but what happens when discouragement hits? What happens when your faith is tested and you’re at the point when you think you will lose hope? I know first hand how that feels. I quote scripture and for a brief moment I feel better but then one thought triggers me and puts me back in a rut. Something had to change and it did. One night in my room, I had enough. I cry out to God and let everything go. Like a child crying to a parent when hurt , all my anger, despair and hurt went straight to Him. At that moment, I felt the weight on my shoulders being released. The Holy Spirit shared a verse from the book of Philippians with me when it happened. “Nathan, you don’t have to be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” I truly couldn’t explain that peace or the release that I received from it.

I just want to encourage you guys that in our moment of weakness, God’s strength is made perfect. We can’t do it by ourselves, remember to press on towards Him. Rely on your brothers and sisters in Christ. You may find out that they are or did go through what you’re going through.

~Nathan
One thought on “Storm

  1. Nathan, Philippians 4:6-8 is one of my faves. It’s an awesome promise God makes to His kids. Bring it all to Him, and he will give us peace beyond understanding. He’s not a tame lion, but He is GOOD!

Leave a Reply

