Who Needs Valentine’s Day?

 

I’m not a history buff like some (ahem Nick), so I don’t know the origin of St. Valentine’s Day.  However, I am socially adept enough to know what it has become.  That one day a year for people to redeem themselves with their significant others so they can go back to taking them for granted for the next 365-366 days.

For most of my life I have truly loathed Valentine’s Day.  I preferred, like many, to call it Singles Awareness Day.  Now that I have a special guy in my life, I was surprised to find that I couldn’t care less about Valentine’s Day.  Here’s why…

Every day he tells me how much he cares about me.  On a pretty regular basis, he tells me what he loves about me, how awesome I am, and how happy he is that God brought us together.  He does little things for me like cook my favorite foods and takes care of me when I’m sick.  That is expressing love.  Not ordering roses one day of the year and forgetting me the rest.

I’ve also observed many of the men at Canvas Church are this same way with their wives.  They’re always showing them affection, and many times tweeting about how in-love they are with their spouse.  Likewise for the women. 

I stand convinced, that the closer a person’s relationship with God, the closer their relationships are with others.  God first loved us.  He calls us to love others as He loves us.  I believe those further in their walk with God who better understand His grace and love, are much better at giving it away.

1 John 4:19 reads “We love because He first loved us.”  I think it could just as easily read…”He loved us so amazingly awesomely, so we could love others in an amazingly awesome way.”  OK, that may just be my translation, but really I believe when we are tapped into the amazing and wonderful love of God, that we can’t help but show it in abundance to others.

John 15:9 and 12 “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love…12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.” 

It doesn’t get much clearer, remain in Him and share the love!

Ashleigh

3 thoughts on “Who Needs Valentine’s Day?

  1. Yes, share the love! It means living out the love that God has for this world every day, and yet giving out of the overflow of the abundance He gives to us. Jesus knows how to love better than anyone simply because He is the sum and substance of love. How can anyone truly know how to love apart from Him?

  2. Hey Ashleigh, you’re right. You know how last Wednesday we were talking about meditation on God and how we are distracted by so many other things. It was brought up how we need to be distracted more by God. This isn’t an easy thing to get started on. I read in Psalms this morning about meditatiing on His love and was convicted that I need to be doing THAT. I even asked Him for help.To disrupt my normal train of thought and to remind me to dwell on those acts of love. It’s just like how you listed the things that your fella’ does that shows you his love, I need to be dwelling on those things that God does to show me His love. With all that happens throughout the day, it’s easy to forget. I asked for reminders to meditate today, and this was my first one. So, thanks!

  3. Thanks for the comments y’all. Denise, I’m convinced no one can truly love until they know God’s love. Janean, glad God is winking at you thru me. :o)

Leave a Reply

