Legacy

“Have pity on me, O Lord, because I am in distress.
   My eyes, my soul, and my body waste away from grief.”  Ps. 31:9 (God’s Word Translation)

Last week, I was sitting at the funeral of my wife’s grandfather.  Everybody always called him Papaw.  I knew him for over 23 years.  There were a lot of facts that I knew about Papaw.  He was a retired utility foreman and preacher.  I heard him preach twice, I think.  He loved to study the Bible and listening to J Vernon McGee on the radio.  I have listened to Dr. McGee a few times, knowing that Papaw was such a loyal listener.  My wife, Jill, speaks fondly of days spent with him.

Then one of Papaws life long preacher friends delivered the message at the funeral.  That’s when I realized, I didn’t know Papaw nearly as well as I thought.  I won’t try to retell the story of which I am so vaguely aware.  However, I will tell you that Papaw was a faithful man of God.  He led many people to faith in our Lord Jesus.  He set an example of passion for Christ that is simply inspiring.  Now, I think I understand why so many who loved him are grieving.

He left us a legacy.  It is a legacy of faith, hope and love.

I heard this verse today (Ps. 31:9).  The word “grief” caught my attention.  It reminded me of all we have experienced in the last few years.  It made me want to dig a little deeper, too. 

About half way through Psalm Chapter 31, the despair takes a sudden and dramatic turn:

I trust you, O Lord.
I said, “You are my God.”
My future is in your hands.
Rescue me from my enemies, from those who persecute me.
Smile on me.  Vs 14-16
 
Trust the Lord.  Give the future to Him.  May He smile on us.  The thought of God smiling on me brings me such peace.  I hope it does the same for you.
~Andy
3 thoughts on “Legacy

  1. Thank you, Andy. While I was at my grandma’s funeral a few weeks, ago, it had occurred to me that inspite of all her quirks, she left her children a legacy of knowing the Lord to al her children and grandchildren. For this, I’m extremely grateful for this because with knowing the Lord, comes faith, hope, and love. Thanks for this reminder:)

  2. I’m so glad that you have such wonderful things to think about Jill’s grandfather. Just think, you will be able to listen to all his stories when you get to heaven…and getting people reconciled to Father God is what love is all about, no?

  3. Great blog Andy! At the funeral, and listening to the preacher talk about Papaw, I was full of regret that I never got to meet him. Love the scripture you used. Very uplifting.

Leave a Reply

