God Works In Guinea Pigs

So you’ve heard that God works in mysterious ways right?  Well, did you know God works in guinea pigs? Bet you haven’t heard that one before.  It’s true.  God opened a lot of amazing doors for me during this Daniel Fast.  It was my first time on a Daniel Fast, and even though it was rough, it was beyond worth it.

God gave me favor at work, and I got a promotion.  That’s awesome!  God is so good and amazes me on a daily basis.  That’s all well and good, but this fast was more about me listening and being open to Him than it was about what I would get out of it.  And yet He blessed me anyway cause He’s just that kind of God.  So back to the subject at hand.  How does God work in guinea pigs?

My boyfriend’s mother’s guinea pig died on Christmas Eve while Brad’s mother was in the hospital.  She told us about it a few weeks ago.  Ever since then, I’ve been looking on Craigslist for one.  Every time I tried to email someone, the post had already been flagged for removal. I finally decided to post my own ISO ad.  I got an email from a woman willing to give me one of her guinea pigs since she was changing to breeding a different variety.  That’s right. GIVE me a guinea pig.  Such a blessing.  His name is Quincy, and that’s not his picture, but he looks almost exactly like that.  Quincy, not coincidentally, is one of Brad’s mom’s favorite shows, and they’ve already fallen in love with the little fella.

God is the God of the BIG, but He is also the God of the small.  He cares for the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37:4), whether it’s a soul mate, a promotion, or a guinea pig.  He wants to give us good gifts because we are His children.  (Matthew 7:11) He’s a good dad.  I love Him. 

~Ashleigh

3 thoughts on “God Works In Guinea Pigs

  1. That is a wonderful story about God’s loving interest in us, down to the smallest desires of our hearts. He indeed has the hairs on our heads numbered, no? How often I forget that. Thank you for the reminder, and joyous blessings on Quincy and his new mom!

Leave a Reply

