Rip It Off

I am a fan of the “rip it off” method for removing Band-Aids. I prefer the quick intense pain over the small hair pulling of the more patient Band-Aid removal. Actually, I think in all of life, I prefer the quick intense pain over the long drawn out type.

Have you ever had to go through something that just seemed to take forever?  I mean really, wondered why it couldn’t be going so much quicker.

A few months ago I started the book, So Long, Insecurity by Beth Moore. I’ll admit it, I loved the idea that she announced from the beginning, “freedom from insecurity” and healing, real healing available. It has been a blessing to my soul to know that insecurity isn’t a way of life but truly something that can be overcome.

Apparently, the healing from insecurity doesn’t include the “rip it off” method. It takes time, and a lot of small steps. Just when I think I have a grasp of this, there turns out to be another Band-Aid under the one I just removed.  

I am healing. Not yet completely healed but in the process. And yes, there is pain involved, I won’t lie. But, I want the healing. I am ready to be in this process for as long as it may take.  There will be a slight scar left behind as a reminder of this process.  I wanted to “rip it off,” but instead I am learning to appreciate the time it takes to truly overcome. Time builds the character to never go back to where I once was.

Ever wish you could use the “rip it off” Band-Aid method when it comes to healing?

~Angela

9 thoughts on “Rip It Off

  1. I’m right there with you Angela. I can’t stand long suffering, healing or much of anything else that draws out. That said, the lessons learned at the end of a lengthy process always seem to be much more meaningful than those at the end of more abrupt events.

    1. Thank you for the reminder to put my name on the blog….. oops.

      I think the greatest benefit to long suffering is that change is undeniable and unavoidable.

  2. Thank you for this word picture. As I’ve travelled the path of getting to know Jesus, I have found that most things in life are a process as opposed to an “event”. Most people I’ve talked to discover healing in layers, which takes time, patience, and perseverance…training for the long haul. Long distance running as opposed to sprinting. Peeling the layers of the onion. In the end, however, the place that has healed becomes even stronger than the surrounding tissue, and that is a comforting thought.

  3. Thanks for your transparency, Angela. I’m right there with you. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who gets impatient with process.

Leave a Reply

