Identity Crisis

Recently, I have found myself having several conversations with people about the importance of finding your identity in Christ.  I think that this is one of the most important steps on the way to understanding yourself and growing closer to God.  Today, I want to discuss a few scriptures that have helped me in this quest.

First, in Jeremiah 1:5, the Word says, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”  Before we even had an identity on this earth, we had an identity in Christ.  How awesome is that?  Why is it, then, that we put so much importance on our “worldly identity?”  If we can ever view ourselves the way that God sees us, imagine the changes that will take place in us and those around us.

In Jeremiah 29:11 the Bible says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Despite what our current circumstances might have us believe, the Lord has plans to give us a future and a hope.  Sometimes, it may seem like we are going nowhere or that our futures are bleak.  As humans, we have a very limited view of the “puzzle” that is this life.  Our Heavenly Father sees the big picture, the “completed puzzle” so to speak.  While things may not seem to add up some times, we need only trust that His plans are higher than our plans.  Our hope lies in God’s hands and not our own.  When things don’t seem to be going our way, we can find comfort in the fact that our identity is not determined by our circumstances and surroundings.

Romans chapter 8 is full of verses that speak of our identity in Christ.  Verse 1 tells us, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”  Verse 28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  We read on to find that verses 37-39 let us know that, “In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  From this one chapter, we can stand on the promises that there is no condemnation for those of us in Christ Jesus, all things will work together for our good, and nothing can separate us from the love of God.  What a blessing it is to be able to stand on God’s promises!

  As Christians, let’s look beyond ourselves to find our identity in Christ.  If things don’t seem to be moving along how you expect that they will, stand on the promise that Paul tells us about in Philippians 1:6, “Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” 

            For me, it is so encouraging to know that my identity is not wrapped up in what others think of me or what I think of myself, but it is all about how God views me.  He calls me friend, and He calls me child.   He has great plans for me, and all that I have to do is step out in faith and trust that God will meet me wherever I am.

~James

9 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

  1. Thank you James for such an encouraging word. Identity in Christ is everything, isn’t it…we cannot make a move for the Kingdom without knowing who we are in Him, at least to an extent. These sections of scripture are so precious!

    1. I do believe that identity in Christ is everything, and I think that so many people struggle with it. I know that I do at times. It is so important to know scriptures that you can stand on when you have struggles with knowing who you are.

  2. I really enjoyed this post James. Such a great reminder, especially at the beginning of the year when most of us are taking the time to start new in areas of our lives. There is nothing better than the foundation of knowing who’s we are.

    oh, and it was very positive but I did miss your challenge at the end.

    1. Thanks, Angela. I almost put a challenge at the end of this one, but sometimes I feel like people might take the challenge as me preaching at them…I don’t know? I normally try to write about things that I struggle with. I guess if that is understood, then it might not come across as being “preachy.”

      1. I always like a good challenge. I think you do a good job of making your thoughts tangable and relatable and something to consider in our own lives. I haven’t felt preached at yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

