What Is Grace?

What is grace??

This question is one that I’ve mulled over in my head continuously for the last few days.  My immediate response is…Undeserved.   I honestly can’t imagine where I’d be without God’s grace covering me continuously.  I am so undeserving of His grace, and yet he offers it freely and lovingly without regret.  Because of God’s abounding grace I have the gift of eternal life and the promise of heaven.  

God’s grace is one of His endearing characteristics that I don’t always imitate quite as effortlessly as He.  An amazing display of His grace was shown through the story of Jonah.  Jonah became angry with God because grace was being given to the Ninevites, an enemy of God’s chosen people, Israel.  He spoke to God saying, “O Lord, is not this what I said when I was yet in my country? That is why I made haste to flee to Tarshish; for I knew that you are a gracious God and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love, and relenting from disaster.”  Jonah was right, the Ninevites didn’t deserve God’s grace.  However, neither did he.  I suppose that Jonah wasn’t taking into consideration that it was by the grace of God that he himself didn’t receive the punishment he truly deserved for disobeying God by not going to Ninevah in the first place.  Maybe that’s why God’s response was simply, “Do you have good reason to be angry?” (Jonah 4:4).

God’s grace is given to everyone, regardless of our spiritual condition.  It’s a free gift.  There seems to be about a bazillion times that grace is referred to in the Bible.  In Ephesians, “We are saved by grace…”, in 2 Corinthians, “My grace is sufficient…,” Titus states, “the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all men,” and again in 2 Corinthians “Grace in enough…”.  The list could go on and on.  It’s amazing that one word receives such acclaim.  

The bottom line is this:

We don’t deserve God’s grace, and there’s nothing we can do to earn it.  We have to learn from Jesus’ example and  do our very best to exemplify grace in our own lives by bestowing it upon other undeserving people all around us.  In the words of Christ, “But I say to you, love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you; in order that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous”. Matthew 5:44-45

In His Grip,  

Farah

2 thoughts on “What Is Grace?

  1. Nice one Farah! Hard for us to grasp sometimes that God’s grace is for EVERYONE. Not just who we think should have it bc none of us really deserve it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

