Struggle

I hear a ringing…its my alarm. Half asleep, I hit the snooze. Three hits later, I wake up. I begin to stare at the wall and break down what I need to do for the day. All at the same time I think to myself, go back to bed, it’s easier since I’m already in it. I’m comfortable there. But I fight the urge and start the day. It’s interesting to me that I do this everyday. without missing a beat, there’s always that ideal or thought of not pushing myself to move. It’s amazing that as soon as I wake up, I think about that. It’s so natural to think this way, not wanting to move. why does it feel so natural to feel this way? The thing is, I feel this way regardless if its morning or evening. With big or small things, it never fails that I feel this way. It’s human nature I suppose. That constant battle within myself. Unfortunately, there are days that I fail, miserably. It feels good knowing that I’m not the only one who feel or acts this way. The apostle Paul struggled with this.

He openly admitted that, I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate. Romans 7:15. Paul, one of the most influential men for Christianity, STRUGGLED! I don’t know about you but that kinda puts me in ease. I’m not the only one who was struggles with my thoughts. I think it has to do with the constant battle between our flesh and spirit. In Galatians 5:17 it shows this battle. For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want. So now what? By knowing this, its easy to realize how we can battle this. We HAVE to put our thoughts and attitudes to HIM. God’s Word tells me that, He’s strength is made in our weakness. …My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 

Guys, I hope that by reading this, you realize that we are human. We will struggle. We will fail, but God makes he’s strength known in our weakness. He is always there with are ups and downs.

~Nathan

6 thoughts on “Struggle

  1. Nathan, thank you so much for posting this. There are so many people that struggle with depression and motivation to get going and do what we are supposed to do! While the reasons for that struggle may differ for every person, the core issues are the same: Are we willing to be obedient to Jesus and the purposes to which He has called us? Are we willing to obey immediately and completely? Do we realize and access the power of God for these things, relying on His energy and not our own since we cannot do anything in and of ourselves?

    Thank you for being so transparent, Nathan. You are a treasured brother!

  2. Hey my Brother,
    That was so strong. it should hit home for all of us, as we all fall short of the glory of God. I never thought to think that he works through our weakness. So I am always trying to be strong so he can work correctly for the people through me. but when people see that we are just alike with our struggles. being the only difference is that God gives us peace and wisdom to handle them the right way.

  3. “Never forget that God is your friend. And like all friends, He longs to hear what’s been happening in your life. Good or bad, whether it’s been full of sorrow or anger, or even when you’re questioning why terrible things have to happen.”

    Now if we could all remember that its ok to be human, the important thing is to remember how to embrace it and what to do with it.

  4. Thank you Nathan,
    It is our daily struggle to stay hopeful in this world when most seems hopeless. Our present moment is but a reflectable memory. What matters is always what we do next even when we don’t want to. God is what drives us to do right. Friends, family and future gives us a reason to listen to God.
    Build Hope One Action at a Time, Even if It’s Just Getting Out of Bed!
    God Bless My Friend In Christ!
    Jeani
    Baking4Charities.com

  5. Awesome message Nathan! very powerful! It spoke directly to my heart…i really needed to hear that…and it just shows me yet again that God is always listening to our prayers…no matter how big or insignificant we may think it to be…He listens and he always manages to throw you a curve ball when you least expect it and say “Hey! I’m listening.” Its a great comfort in knowing that!! God Bless you!!

Leave a Reply

