Speaking Things That Are Not

It’s no secret that I am an animal lover.  I have several friends with companion birds.  In my experience with the birds capable of mimicking speech, I’ve noticed that they tend to practice.  My friend’s parrot, when trying to teach himself a new word, will quietly whisper it to himself over and over again in practice, until he gets it right.  Sometimes, this will go on for weeks.  Then finally, after much labor, he will begin to say the new word or phrase in an audible tone.  After he is certain it’s correct, he will shout it whenever he sees fit.

Ok, so what does this have to do with God?  Wait for it…In Romans 4:16-18 it speaks of calling things “which be not, as though they were.”  We will never have the follower of Christ thing mastered.  It is a process.  However, there are promises in the Word that we can cling to along the way.  “The power of death and life lies in the tongue.”  Proverbs 18: 20-21 Speak God’s positive promises into your life, even when they don’t seem tangible.

If you are tired speak aloud, “Jesus said, ‘Come unto me all who are weary and heavy laiden, and I will give you rest.’”  Matthew 11:28

If you are facing an insurmountable situation, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13

If you are struggling with sin and impurity, “I am the righteousness of God in Christ.” 2 Corinthians 5:21

If you feel alone, “I am with you always, even unto the ends of the age.”  Matthew 28:20

If you are sick, “by His stripes, we are healed.” Isaiah 53:5

Some argue this is lying to oneself, I stand with Jesus and say that I am speaking things that are not as though they were.  Sometimes I may have to say it fifty times before I can speak it in confidence.  Sometimes it may take 5,000 whispers before I can shout it as a declaration.  But every time I say it, I know that it is a promise of God, and I can trust Him to deliver.  And “even if He does not, He is still able

Maybe you can’t shout yet, but it’s time to start whispering.

Pursuing Him with you,

Ashleigh

8 thoughts on “Speaking Things That Are Not

  1. Wow – What an outstanding post Ashleigh. You really got me thinking this morning because I’ve known people like that (People who would interpret “speaking things that are not, as though they were” as a lie). I’m with you… I strongly disagree. More importantly, I feel it is clear that the Bible disagrees with this point of view as well.

    One such example is seen as we read on in Romans 4. In verse 20-21 it tells us how Abraham did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God. he was fully persuaded that God had the power and would keep his promise (that Abraham would father many nations).

    My prayer for today is that none of us “waiver through unbeleif”… and we all remain “fully persuaded” that God has the power to turn things that are not, into things that are.

    Thanks again for this post Ashleigh.

    Ted

  2. Ashleigh, this was so inspiring! I needed to read this today!! When we are falling in life, when our self-esteem has been flushed away, when we think we cannot take even one more step, He is there to be whatever we need. He tells us what and who we are in Him, because if He did not, we would be relegated to the strength of our own human minds and what others tell us. Because of attacks from the enemy, those thoughts are most times untruths. Why? Satan hates us and is constantly whispering lies into our ears. He hates us because we represent Jesus and were made in the image of God,no? Therefore, we must speak His Word into our lives so that we CAN reach for the upward call of Christ in our lives and leave the past behind. Hey, who promised that this life would be easy or fair? Where is that written, no? We MUST speak those things that are not as though they were in order to access His power, healing, and love. Thanks again, Ashleigh!!!

Leave a Reply

