OOOOHHHMMM Think Not!

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my strength and my redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

This verse is said in my church every Sunday before we are dismissed from a sermon. One thing that always stood out to me was …the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight.  It stands out to me because it is clear that our meditation can be unacceptable and displeasing to the Lord. But what is meditation and how is it important? My first thought of meditation use to be, sitting  with my legs crossed and placing my arms a certain way, then making some type of noise. This is secular meditation and man, was I way off from the truth. Meditation is  ”the act of focusing one’s thoughts. to ponder, think on, muse.” Meditation consists of reflective thinking or contemplation, usually on a specific subject to discern its meaning or significance or a plan of action.

Secular meditation is commonly associated with or is a form of  Eastern meditation, also called Transcendental Meditation. Transcendental Meditation is an attempt to empty ones mind. The eastern form of reflection stress the need to become detached form the world. There is an emphasis upon losing “yourself” and joining with the Cosmic Mind. This can be dangerous because you open yourself to demonic attack.

True Biblical Meditation is a helpful tool in spiritual overcoming and growth. It involves concentrating one’s thought on the Word of God which is shown in Psalms 119:19. A person might focus on a biblical principle or doctrine for the sake of seeking understanding. It can also help to overcome sinful behavior or a weakness. Meditating on how pertaining biblical guidelines apply to the specific need helps draw upon and direct God’s spirit. Biblical Meditation is object-oriented. It starts with reflective reading of the Word and is followed by reflection on what has been read and committed to memory. The apostle Paul gives us additional advice on Biblical Meditation in the book of Philippians. He tells us to meditate on things that are true, pure and positive. In Romans 12:1-2, we see that how we use our minds is certainly important in learning God’s will and following in it.

I just want to challenge everyone to take a step back and see how important meditating is. If done incorrectly, it leads to unwanted desires from our Father. We need to fill ourselves with the Word.  Author Irving L. Jensen writes “An unread Bible is like food that is refused, an unopened love letter, a buried sword, a road map not studied, a gold mine not worked.” 

So I say…Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my strength and my redeemer.

Nathan

6 thoughts on “OOOOHHHMMM Think Not!

Leave a Reply

