What Luke Skywalker Should Have Done

Between Sunday service and Wednesday nights’ growth track, Nick has covered couple of things that I’ve been dealing with personally in my own life; remembering what God has done for us and our heritage. Having a broken relationship with my parents has been something that has taken up space in my life that is useless because I have held onto the negative aspects of it. I wrote a letter to each of my parents explaining my feelings and asking for their forgiveness for the resentment that I’ve had all of these years. My dad came to visit me this past weekend and it was a great visit. As we conversed, I realized that all of those things that I’ve held against him were done and gone. I had no desire to revisit them. Instead, I had the desire to think about the positive things that I received from my parents and wrote them this letter. As I was writing, God was revealing some aspects about me that I had overlooked because of my focus on all of the negative stuff. I want to share this with you because I know that I’m not alone with this struggle and I hope that you all reflect back on the good qualities that you have because of where you came from. Peace Out

Janean

Dear Mom and Dad,

Maybe things weren’t ideal or perfect, but as I’m sitting here out in the middle of a this field, ( and hoping that the buzzards don’t mistake my lying down in the sunshine as something dead. Really, there are buzzards.) God has been revealing so much about how life with you guys has made the woman who I am.

First of all, we’ve never had much. I want you to know that I’ve never regretted or resented that. In fact, because of not having much, I’ve learned to enjoy the simple things in life and am pretty indifferent to “stuff”. I know how to make do with what I have and not complain about it.

 You both have taught me resourcefulness. Instead of whining with our hands out for help, we found ways to get things done with very little. I have yet to meet anyone who has had to wash their clothes in the bathtub using a toilet plunger with holes punched in it. Not a lot of fun to do, I’ll admit, but equality was taught as we all had to take turns plunging, and in the end, we had clean clothes. Whether it was that or making jell-o on the front porch we always managed without things that most people would deem as necessities. Because of this, I don’t freak out when my heater is busted or when the sewage backs up because I know I will manage fine and everything will turn out alright.

Dad, you’re a dreamer and have always had ideals of something better. I may have inherited my restlessness from you, but because of that, I’m never complacent. I am always striving and pushing to move ahead.

Mom, you’ve always been content and can see the beauty in the simple things. You are able to take very little and make it stretch into plenty. Because of that, I am a good steward of the things God has given me and am able to see the beauty in the simple things as well.

Because of these aspects of you both, I’ve become creative. Whether it be writing, music, painting, or taking pictures, you have shown me how, to not only make something out of very little, but to love what God has made around me and I want nothing more than that. Dad, if it weren’t for you taking us out on random road trips in the station wagon making us listen to John Denver music, I wouldn’t be able to sit outside, as I am right now, knowing that sunshine on my shoulders really does make me happy. Yet, Mom, your constant drive to be industrious and make our home a good one has made me a hard worker. You set the standard on how to make any house and situation a good home.

Because of you two, I’m creative, resourceful, a dreamer, and a hard worker. I think this makes a pretty cool combination for God to use. He has a purpose for me and will use all of this. I would not be the woman that I am if it weren’t for you both. You did not only give me life, but you added very important fibers to the fabric of my being.

I love you.

Janean

One thought on “What Luke Skywalker Should Have Done

  1. Janean, what a beautifully eloquent appreciation for your upbringing and the things God has wrought in you because of your family! Jesus does indeed love a cheerful heart of gratefulness for everything…an excellent example of giving thanks for all things, the bright and the dark. For we need both to create a painting of our lives that will speak to others in Jesus’ name.

Leave a Reply

