One YES, One Thousand No’s

One Yes, 1000 No’s …..

Simple enough, right? 

At the beginning of our Fruits series at Canvas Pastor Nick made a simple enough statement. Me, my brain, has an AHA moment.

It seems that in just about every area of my life there are justifications, excuses, reasons for A or B to be chosen. Usually it aligns with my priorities, sometimes it is out of obligation and even others because I am a do all, people pleaser that overcommits myself and my time.

Saying Yes to believing in the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ is a commitment, a declaration, a lifestyle, a change.

There is a huge misconception about the No’s that come with the Christian walk. Sure, we say no to a lot of things or at least do our best. We try not to steal or murder or cheat on our spouses. Sometimes, we even make too big of a deal over making sure everyone knows the No’s. Let me add a little thought here, what if we changed our perspective? We have been talking about it a lot on this blog, how to change the little things just by a change of attitude. What if we started focusing on our Yes. What if I worried less about my potential to lie and steal and praised God more for His saving Grace?

Here is my thought….. what Yes’ have come from your Yes? Here are a few of mine to get us started….

Because I choose Christ, I choose life.

Psalm 16:11 You have made known to me the path of life;
       you will fill me with joy in your presence,
       with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Because I choose Christ, I choose freedom.

Galatians 5:1 It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

Because I choose Christ, I choose power.

1 Corintianas 1:18For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.

Because I choose Christ, I choose relationship.

Romans 8:15For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” 16The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.

What are your one thousand Yes’ because you have chosen Christ?

~Angela

One thought on “One YES, One Thousand No’s

  1. These are wonderful exhortations to us…thank you, Angela!

    At the risk of sounding “Pollyanna”, God constantly encourages us to keep our minds stayed on the positive {Phil.4:8]. He wants us to concentrate on bringing the light in as opposed to driving out the darkness. Why? Because light by its very nature obliterates the darkness. I think about what happens when one turns on a light switch in a dark room…the darkness recedes, revealing the truth of what exists there and its possibilities.

    The Word tells us that God is not only love, but light as well. Therein lies the power, peace, and beauty of our souls. Like green plants, we were made to soak up the energy from Him, giving us what is necessary to create food to produce fruit, thereby imparting life to those who receive that fruit.

Leave a Reply

