Encourage, Pass It On

So it’s finally my turn to blog…yeah man!, hope you guys enjoy it.

I really don’t have any deep spiritual revelation, however. I’ve had some interesting things happen to me. A couple of days ago, I was speaking with a former co-worker name Paula. Paula and I began talking about different things, school, life, work, etc… When we started to talk about work, she begins to tell me that it’s not the same anymore. Everyone just seems to be in a bad mood. I was going to ask her why but I knew the reason. Certain people at my old department just don’t like their job and want to make sure to spread that attitude to everyone like a disease. Paula then said “Nathan, you don’t know how many people miss you.” I laughed but she was being serious. “You encouraged so many people at work. I don’t think I ever saw you in a bad mood.” That comment really stood out to me.

Who knew that I made such an impact to my co-workers. As simple as having a good attitude. It made me realize that people are always watching, watching every action and mood we make. In Hebrews 3:13 ESV it says, “Instead, continue to encourage on another every day, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin,”. As Christians, we think of encouraging one another as intentionally talking to one another. “I just want to encourage you…(fill in the blank)” lol, I’m laughing because I’ve caught myself saying this to fellow believers. It’s all in good intentions and not to take anything from that but there has to be more than just that. We have to realize that our actions are just as powerful as our words. Dare I say, our fruits. Joy, peace, love, patients, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. All these traits or actions are things we want and need to do.

I just want to encourage you guys…ha ha ok, seriously, let’s take it up a notch. Let’s go outside our words and become men and women of ACTION. People will see that and respond to it and God has called us to do this. To be “lights in the world” in the midst of a “crooked and perverse generation”. That being said, lets shine!

Your brother in Christ,
Nathan

One thought on “Encourage, Pass It On

Leave a Reply

