The Acts Project – Chapter 10

Acts 10

Often times I find myself just wanting God to tell me what’s next.  I can sense that He is trying to tell me something, but I  can’t see it yet, I can’t feel it yet, I can’t understand what’s about to happen, but I know something big is about to happen!  Here we see God is very direct with two people, Simon (Peter) and to Cornelius, and I’m jealous in some ways!  I pray that God gives me direction through my dreams, or text me, or something, but alas, He reminds me that I have to have faith.  There is freedom in faith.  We also get to experience God’s call to Peter to allow everyone to come to Him.  I can almost hear Peter now, “28…You are well aware that it is against our law for a Jew to associate with a Gentile or visit him. But God has shown me that I should not call any man impure or unclean.”  I hear freedom, hope, and inspiration in these words, “God has shown me that I should not call any man impure.”   We can all be baptized in His name, we are all made whole in Him!  God is calling us to break down those barriers that we set up to distinguish the “impure” or “unclean” He is calling us to reach out beyond our human capacities to love, and love in His name, to baptize all who call upon Him.  Are we allowing God to love others through us?  Or are we getting in the way?  I pray we reach farther this week to love others not because we understand it, but because He commands it.

– Sue

Leave a Reply

