The Acts Project – Chapter 5

Acts 5
“As a result, people brought the sick into the streets and laid them on
beds and mats so that at least Peter’s shadow might fall on some of them
as he passed by.”  (Acts 5:15)
WOW!!!  Talk about living a life drenched in God’s power!  Just passing by
his shadow brought healing.  This one verse brings me conviction.  It’s as
if Peter’s presence was….God’s presence.  We talk as if being
Christ-like is unattainable.  I mean…I don’t believe we will ever be
like Christ until we are hanging with him in heaven.  But, Peter…living
a life filled with God.  He didn’t go about his day, as we do, working a
job and fitting God in when he could.  God WAS his life.  Preaching the
Gospel and SHOUTING the good news WAS his life.
This brings me to a question?  Am I going to work, church, paying bills,
updating my facebook, keeping up with friends and then “fitting” God in.
Or is God my LIFE?  Guys, I’m not talking about living a life as a
christian…but living this life as a christian and not just being happy
with that….but trying to bring as many people with us as we can.  You
have to understand, the only God some people may ever experience is the
God WE show them.  If we aren’t allowing God to be our life then WE are
taking something from those people.  Make sense?  We have the answer they
are looking for.  We have the Joy, Peace, Understanding, Hope…..to
repeat….we have the answer they are looking for.  The question is….are
you allowing God to be your life?  Or are you just fitting him in when you
get the chance?  Peter and these guys didn’t care if they went to
jail…they trusted that God would take care of them.  They believed what
they were teaching….and you know what?  They lived it out LOUD!!!
God has been pouring music through me the last couple weeks and I feel so
blessed.  Some of the things that have been on my heart is this thing
of…SHOUTING!!!!!!  Ok…not just walking around Lowes, where I work at
the moment, SCREAMING!!!!  But living God to a point of being completely
unashamed and trusting God enough to know even if it gets me fired…..He
will take care of me.  God can’t be “filler”.  God just IS and everything
else?  It’s just filler.
My challenge to you..as well as myself.  Don’t just be happy with being a
christian.  Strive to get to a point where your presence around other
people grabs their attention.  Your presence brings change in them.  Your
presence=God’s presence.  People need to see that we ARE different…and
when they ask you…”Hey, what’s so different about you?”  Well there is
your open door.  God IS…everything else is filler.

Acts 5
“As a result, people brought the sick into the streets and laid them onbeds and mats so that at least Peter’s shadow might fall on some of themas he passed by.”  (Acts 5:15)
WOW!!!  Talk about living a life drenched in God’s power!  Just passing byhis shadow brought healing.  This one verse brings me conviction.  It’s asif Peter’s presence was….God’s presence.  We talk as if beingChrist-like is unattainable.  I mean…I don’t believe we will ever belike Christ until we are hanging with him in heaven.  But, Peter…livinga life filled with God.  He didn’t go about his day, as we do, working ajob and fitting God in when he could.  God WAS his life.  Preaching theGospel and SHOUTING the good news WAS his life.
This brings me to a question?  Am I going to work, church, paying bills,updating my facebook, keeping up with friends and then “fitting” God in. Or is God my LIFE?  Guys, I’m not talking about living a life as achristian…but living this life as a christian and not just being happywith that….but trying to bring as many people with us as we can.  Youhave to understand, the only God some people may ever experience is theGod WE show them.  If we aren’t allowing God to be our life then WE aretaking something from those people.  Make sense?  We have the answer theyare looking for.  We have the Joy, Peace, Understanding, Hope…..torepeat….we have the answer they are looking for.  The question is….areyou allowing God to be your life?  Or are you just fitting him in when youget the chance?  Peter and these guys didn’t care if they went tojail…they trusted that God would take care of them.  They believed whatthey were teaching….and you know what?  They lived it out LOUD!!!
God has been pouring music through me the last couple weeks and I feel soblessed.  Some of the things that have been on my heart is this thingof…SHOUTING!!!!!!  Ok…not just walking around Lowes, where I work atthe moment, SCREAMING!!!!  But living God to a point of being completelyunashamed and trusting God enough to know even if it gets me fired…..Hewill take care of me.  God can’t be “filler”.  God just IS and everythingelse?  It’s just filler.
My challenge to you..as well as myself.  Don’t just be happy with being achristian.  Strive to get to a point where your presence around otherpeople grabs their attention.  Your presence brings change in them.  Yourpresence=God’s presence.  People need to see that we ARE different…andwhen they ask you…”Hey, what’s so different about you?”  Well there isyour open door.  God IS…everything else is filler.

Leave a Reply

