The Acts Project – Chapter 4

Acts 4
After reading Acts chapter 4, I thought about the amazing faith that Peter and John must have had as they taught the people and proclaimed the resurrection of Jesus.  This act caused them to be arrested but they were released the next day after being questioned.  They continued to teach and heal people even though they knew they could be arrested again.
I imagined what it must have been like living  in those days and pondered what I would have done if I were in their sandals.  I’m not sure I could have been as strong and bold as the apostles.
Then I surmised that our time is not so much different than their time, except we have modern conveniences and gadgets.  We still have those people who continue to persecute christians in some parts of the world.  Even in America there are those who refuse to believe that Jesus was the Song of God and He chose to die for our salvation.  These same people are trying to take our religious freedom away from us through the courts.
I grew up as a Catholic and my family owned a bible but we never read the book.  We went to church ever Sunday, well almost, but we were truly ignorant of the message contained in the bible.  It wasn’t until I got married a second time, this time to a wonderful christian woman, that I started to read the bible.
I am beginning to understand the true message contained within the bible but it is still hard for me to talk to others about it because I don’t full understand how to convey the message to others using scripture.
I like to think that if I were in a position such as Peter and John, I would be willing to go to jail or even die for His sake.

Acts 4
After reading Acts chapter 4, I thought about the amazing faith that Peter and John must have had as they taught the people and proclaimed the resurrection of Jesus.  This act caused them to be arrested but they were released the next day after being questioned.  They continued to teach and heal people even though they knew they could be arrested again.
I imagined what it must have been like living  in those days and pondered what I would have done if I were in their sandals.  I’m not sure I could have been as strong and bold as the apostles.
Then I surmised that our time is not so much different than their time, except we have modern conveniences and gadgets.  We still have those people who continue to persecute christians in some parts of the world.  Even in America there are those who refuse to believe that Jesus was the Song of God and He chose to die for our salvation.  These same people are trying to take our religious freedom away from us through the courts.
I grew up as a Catholic and my family owned a bible but we never read the book.  We went to church ever Sunday, well almost, but we were truly ignorant of the message contained in the bible.  It wasn’t until I got married a second time, this time to a wonderful christian woman, that I started to read the bible.
I am beginning to understand the true message contained within the bible but it is still hard for me to talk to others about it because I don’t full understand how to convey the message to others using scripture.
I like to think that if I were in a position such as Peter and John, I would be willing to go to jail or even die for His sake.

-Tim

Leave a Reply

