Roots

“Let the God you serve define you…..define your relationships on who you are, in Christ” ~Nick Rains

If the world sees us as the tree, what are they looking at? Does your God define you?

If the roots in my life are drinking in the very Living Water that God provides, I will be a strong tree. It isn’t about being the most beautiful tree or even the smartest. It is knowing I can stand strong on the knowledge that my God is With Me.  If I believe my Savior was born of a Virgin, as promised by God hundreds of years before his birth, I can trust more on the promises He has made to me, today. If I wrap my life around the idea that Jesus came to serve and love, my life will serve and love. If I believe He died so I may have life, I will live my life more abundantly. If I celebrate the resurrected life of Jesus, I will claim victory over every battle because He overcame. And the beautiful Counselor, God filling in the places only He can in my life. Never leaving, never forsaking His children. How beautiful would it be if our roots reached out to the promise of the same Spirit living in us that rose our Savior from the grave?  Abba, who loves us enough to reconcile us to Him, also loves us enough to come back for us and I will live a life of Joy knowing His Kingdom will come.

Everyone feeds their life something. Everyone stands as a tree. Some are strong, some weak. Some are strong until the storm comes, some are full and beautiful until the drought. What do you believe, in part or in whole? Are you reaching for it, feeding your life with it? All of His beautiful promises come beautiful wrapped in Grace. You can’t earn it, joy is free when you reach for it, passion and life are abundant when you choose them.

Jeremiah 17:7 “But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD,
whose confidence is in him.

Jeremiah 17:8 He will be like a tree planted by the water
that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
and never fails to bear fruit.”

Are you roots reaching for life? Are all the areas of you life being fed by the Living Water of God?

2 thoughts on “Roots

  1. Great post. We all drink in something. Are your roots speading or are they in the same spot they have always been? Are you reaching to new areas that bring new sources of life and growth? Awesome job Angela. You do a great job on the blog! Thanks.

  2. This is the precise question each of us must answer in our lives…what are we taking in to nourish our souls in this lifetime?

    We only have two choices for this no matter what the world says. Jesus said that we could not serve God and mammon. Not a lot of people realize that by not choosing God, they are choosing the god of this world by default,even if they think their syncretistic beliefs will “cover all the bases”.

    My hope is that people will say at the end of my life, “She had her Father’s eyes.”

Leave a Reply

