Communication Matters

Duck and Cover……okay, that was once how Ted had to respond to my communication. Oh, yes, I was a thrower. In the first year of our relationship, I am not sure how many things or what I threw, but I know whenever a discussion wasn’t going my way I would throw something. During one of our heated discussions I threw a tootsie pop at him, it was really the only thing readily available. I don’t even remember why I threw it or what we were talking about but I do remember grabbing it out of my mouth and tossing it across the room.

Ted’s response: “If you are going to keep throwing things at me, this isn’t going to work.”

Needless to say, over the last 16 years we have gotten much better at communicating with each other. We don’t always say the right things but I can promise, I haven’t thrown anything at him since that day.

I truly believe that our words, our actions, they are at the root of how all of our relationships in life will flow. And the hardest part of communication is that you can’t determine how someone will respond to you. You can only change you, your reactions, your words. Thank God for forgiveness and His promises to renew our minds and change our patterns and make us new. Thank God He gives us His Word to find direction and guidance when we just don’t have the ability to do it alone.

Romans 12:2 Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Do you have a moment where your ability to communicate was called into question? Do you remember a time you could have responded a whole lot better?  I can’t be the only person to have ever thrown a tootsie pop across the room in a fit of frustration, can I?

One thought on “Communication Matters

Leave a Reply

