Faith

to trust; to believe

I can still remember first going to youth group. I can remember hearing them speak of God and Jesus and Truth. I was 14 and immediately believed. In spite of the road I traveled, I never stopped believing. I wasn’t entirely ready to devote myself to a response in grace but I knew God had my best interest at heart. When I had my daughter Madi, I knew God had a hand in her creation. When I stood in the back of a church and mourned the death of our beautiful 3-year-old cousin, I knew God had a bigger plan than what I did. Everywhere I look I can see the fingerprints of our Creator.

It is a hard life lesson to learn that not everyone believes in the same way. Faith doesn’t come to each of us in the same form. Just as differently as He made our eyes, our hair and our noses, He made each of us different in our responses in faith. It is hard for me to understand how someone can’t see the majesty of God when they stand on the top of a mountain or in the sand beside the raging ocean. I have come to realize that the creativity He uses in the world around us is the same in the people we share this life with. My husbands faith, though very different from my own, is beautiful and just as real.

Hebrews 1-3(msg)The fundamental fact of existence is that this trust in God, this faith, is the firm foundation under everything that makes life worth living. It’s our handle on what we can’t see. The act of faith is what distinguished our ancestors, set them above the crowd.

By faith, we see the world called into existence by God’s word, what we see created by what we don’t see.

What does your faith look like? Do you have an abundance? Do you pray constantly for more belief? Do you look first at facts? Do you do everything within your own power before you trust God to help you out?

2 thoughts on “Faith

  1. I like to think my faith is bigger than a mustard seed… but I haven’t moved any mountains lately (Mathew 17:20). Or in the parable of the Mustard Seed… is the Mountain a parable as well? In that case, maybe I have moved a mountain or two. In that case I would say my faith is probably more like a sunflower seed, or maybe kernel of popping corn in comparison. The important part is whatever it looks like, it’s ten thousand times larger than it was just 5 years ago.

  2. I consider myself blessed that God grows my faith every day. I used to become discouraged because no matter how much I seemed to learn, with respect to certain areas of my life, I always seemed to be “back to square one”. Jesus has shown me that He is the one who causes the growth, even within ourselves, that we do not have to work up something within us even to respond…we have only to ask Him, and He will do it. Even when your back is to the wall, and you have no strength left even to hope, He can implant that too. That is why I always pray, “I believe, Lord, help my unbelief!”

Leave a Reply

