Haiti

Last night after watching the NFL Playoffs, Ted and I in our Sunday afternoon laziness didn’t bother to change the channel and began to watch 60 Minutes and their story on the Haiti earthquake disaster.

It was heartbreaking to see the tragedy that has struck Haiti. Our stomachs ached and our eyes filled with tears as we watched bodies being picked up off the streets with a front end loader and dropped into a dump truck. “There has to be a more humane way of doing that?!!”

It is easy to get lost in the despair and feel hopeless. How am I suppose to help? What can I do from here? We give money and yet it never feels like anything has been done. I look around and think, well if I didn’t have all of these responsibilities I could go there and really make a difference. But, I have all of these responsibilities here, things that need me like my girls and my husband and I love them and I love that I am here to care for them. So, what do we do?

We Pray.

Matthew 17:20And He said to them, “Because of the littleness of your faith; for truly I say to you, if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you.

21But this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting.” (emphasis mine)

Do you realize that we have a relationship with the Creator of the heavens and the Earth? You see, it is easy enough to say you will pray about something. It is another thing to believe that when you pray, you are talking to the One God, One King, the Healer and Comforter of all of our pain. He wants to hear from you and He wants to hear that you love the people of Haiti and want Him to heal their land.

So, my friends, I ask of you to take time to not just watch the pictures go by and wonder what you can do because you have the most powerful tool of them all, mustard seed size faith. Use whatever faith you can gather, believe in the promises of our Father, and pray.

Leave a Reply

